food · slice of life

Bundled-Up Date Night #SOL21

Thank goodness for patio heaters or we’d never have been able to make it through dinner outside this evening.

I found myself on Resy moments after my husband said, “My mom offered for her and my dad to watch the kids so we could go out on a date night.” It’s hard to reserve outdoor seating at local restaurants so I was shocked when I found a 5:45 p.m. reservation at Luca. Naturally, I booked it, then texted my husband to make sure Luca was okay. (It was.)

The confirmation email arrived a few minutes later and that’s when I realized that I inadvertently booked a table for Sunday night, rather than Saturday night. (Nothing was available on Saturday night.) While Marc had no problem dining out on Saturday night, he told me it was supposed to be windy. I checked the weather. Sure enough, he was right. BUT I DID NOT CARE. Wind isn’t rain so I believed I could hack it.

As we got ready for tonight’s date night, I found myself dressing in layers (e.g., long sleeve tee beneath a sweater, knee socks). The wind was already blowing 10-20 MPH and gusts were predicted up to 35 MPH. I brought a hat and sweater just in case. I asked Marc to bring a blanket, which he thought was a bit much.

“I really could care less if people think we look crazy sitting outside with a blanket on our laps. I’d wrap myself in fur Snuggie if were socially acceptable.” (BTW: I’m anti-fur and anti-Snuggie. I invoked both of those things to make a point.)

Marc found a fleece blanket, folded it, and packed it in the car.

It was 56 degrees when we arrived at Luca. If there weren’t any wind, I doubt we would’ve needed the heater turned on beside our table. But it was windy.

Marc was reluctant to don the blanket, but I insisted. He was happier with it on. Marc didn’t think he needed a hat, but eventually covered his head with it.

We may have been cold, but the time together was worth it!

Our appetizer and pizzas were delicious. (If you’re gluten-free, you’ll want to make your way to Luca at some point. They make the most delicious gluten-free pizza, using Caputo’s Fioreglut Flour, I’ve ever tasted!) Even though Luca makes one of my favorite desserts, Budino, I couldn’t stand to be outside any longer since it was so windy that the heater beside our table blew out twice during our meal and needed to be relit.

We ended up driving to a local ice cream store. We took our ice cream back to our heated car where we ate it with our heat seats blasting.

22 thoughts on “Bundled-Up Date Night #SOL21

  1. Laughed out loud at the fur Snuggie. Would probably have done the same if I had the option of child care, regardless of wind. Especially loved the ice cream in the car ending. Exactly what my boo and I would’ve done. Thanks for letting me live vicariously through you with this post!

  2. “BTW: I’m anti-fur and anti-Snuggie. I invoked both of those things to make a point.” This gave me a laugh. I used to have an original Snuggie. (It was a long time ago, okay.) the whole meal sounds delicious and I love that on a cold night you got ice cream.

    1. Years ago, when we lived in a loft apartment in Providence, Marc bought me red Snuggies for Valentine’s Day. While functional, I told him never to buy me more than a card for Valentine’s Day again. 🤣
      Ice cream is good anytime of year, right?!!?

  3. What a perfect date night! I love how the pandemic has made us appreciate these nights out a little more (and made us a lot more willing to put up with “inconveniences” that would have irritated us to the point of complaint a year ago). I especially love the ice cream ending—the best dates should always end with ice cream!

    1. Never in a million years did I ever think I’d sit outside in weather like we did last night. However, I was so grateful to have a meal together that I dealt with the cold!

  4. I love the ice-cream picture! AND I love how you were so lucky to be able to head out despite the weather!

  5. Happily married now for 33 years, I know it is because our parents were also our “babysitters” and we scheduled date nights and weekends away, too. As I read about how you dressed for this pandemic date, my mind started to notice the differences….no jewery mentioned, no hose and heels, no fancy dress. I’m glad you got husband and wife time. I hope soon, it might not have to include a blanket and hats!!

    BTW – So grateful you started and are keep this community going.
    It is bringing me much joy this March, my 8th! Thank you.

  6. I know how important it is to get away – even for a meal outdoors on a windy evening! I must say, you both look like you have dressed for a meal in Siberia – woolen hats, heavy coats, and fleece blankets. I laughed out loud when you ended up eating ice-cream in the car. Ice-cream, Stacey? Really? I actually felt cold when I saw the photo, even though your ice-cream selections looked delicious!

  7. My children are all grown up now so we don’t need sitters anymore but I do remember nights like yours were so appreciated. BTW, I’m from Montréal so I’m not intimidated by 56F and strong winds. I do am looking forward to spring and summer though. I’m happy you had a good time!

    1. It wasn’t quite as cold as Quebec City during Winter Carnival, but when the wind was whipping, it made me think of being out there, on the Plains of Abraham, wishing I could go indoors!

  8. Oh, my, you are brave for dining in cold weather! And the ice cream dessert in the heated car made me laugh. Looks like you had a great time for date night.

  9. When I started reading I felt jealous that it is already warm enough in PA for outdoor dining. Then as I read I realized it really isn’t. I can so relate to being so cold that it lasts for hours even though it should be over. The cold really does go right through the bones. This is a really good story – I love that Marc didn’t think he needed the extra layers but took them anyway!

  10. Isn’t it amazing what we will put up with to have a little bit of something normal? At least an attempt at what you thought would be normal. What a brrrrreautiful memory you made out of it.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.