siblings · slice of life · technology

Naughty Moments

THE GIRL CHILD

This morning, I asked Isabelle to watch Ari while I went upstairs to brush my teeth. Whenever I’ve asked this of her in the past she has played with him. Today she had another idea.

On my way back downstairs I heard voices, but they weren’t my children’s voices. She turned on the TV! I was infuriated since I don’t allow TV before school. I thought about tiptoeing downstairs and catching her in the act, but I worried she would’ve heard my footsteps and turned it off before I walked into the room. So I called to her from the staircase, “I hear the TV and want to see what you’re watching.”

Isabelle looked so guilty when I entered our great room. Thankfully, she was only watching “The Cat in the Hat” with Ari who was standing right up against the TV screen, which is NOT a good thing if you’re in charge of your baby brother. (Reasons I don’t like her to watch TV when Ari is around.)

I punished her in a way that benefitted me. No KidzBop in the car this morning! (BTW: I listened to the Beatles Channel, which was delightful.)

THE BOY CHILD

Ari started climbing onto the couch a few days ago. Thing is, Ari doesn’t just sit on the couch like a normal kid. He walks back and forth on the sectional. Also, he likes to stand in place and wave the quilt, which hangs on the wall, in a way that makes me cringe every time.

Perhaps the funniest part of Ari standing up on the couch (to touch the quilt) is that he knows he shouldn’t be doing it. He smiles as he touches it, makes eye contact with me, and then says “no-no” as he grabs the material and gives it a shake.

15 thoughts on “Naughty Moments

  1. These are pretty sweet naughty moments! 🙂 It’s hard work teaching all the rules… and learning them too! Such a sweet slice of real life with kids!

  2. What do you mean …not like a normal kid? That IS how boys sit on the couch! I have two of them — I know. Oh, and that knowing smile… look out – that one is deadly!
    Clare

  3. I had to read this today because I can’t imagine those two being naughty! But even those naughty moments are priceless! Love the picture of Ari with the quilt saying No. It would be hard for me to keep a straight face!

    1. Trust me… if this was a private family blog, there would be many more naughty stories! I’m trying to make sure my kids don’t disown me when they’re old enough to read this blog. (They will be picking my nursing home!)

  4. So they are just a little naughty! And if I was Ari’s age, I would want to touch that quilt too. It’s so beautiful!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.