food · siblings · slice of life

Lunchtime Showdown

The fight about where we would eat out for lunch began on the way out of the salon after Isabelle’s haircut.

No, wait, that’s not right.

The fight about where we would eat out for lunch started after breakfast this morning.

No, wait. That’s still not right.

The fight about where we would eat out for lunch commenced last night when the kids asked what we were doing today.

Who cares when it began?! Here’s where I want to launch into the story:

Isabelle’s hair takes eons to cut, dry, and style. He had been sitting there for nearly two hours, and Ari was grumpy on the way out of the salon.

The kids began bickering (again) about where they’d eat out on the first day of their long weekend. They didn’t want to eat at anything in the City of Lancaster, which is where we were.

“Tell me what’s around here,” Ari bellowed from the backseat.

“Sukho Thai is right there. Shall we?” I said sarcastically. (Neither of my children likes Thai food.)

“No!” they shouted in unison.

“How about Shake Shack?” Isabelle asked.

“Their burgers are greasy. Let’s do something healthier.”

“What about Rice and Noodles?” Ari asked.

Isabelle turned that down since she doesn’t like Vietnamese food.

Back and forth it went. Finally, I gave the kids a choice. “Since neither of you wants anything in the city, I’ll drive up to the Borough of Lititz. Here are two choices: Slate Cafe or Tomato Pie Cafe.”

“Slate!” Ari called out simultaneously as Isabelle yelled, “Tomato Pie!”

Back and forth, it went for five minutes. I told the kids I’d take them home so they could make their own lunches if they didn’t stop fighting because it’s unbearable when they bicker.

Isabelle gave in to Ari. “Fine, Ah-ray! If you want to be difficult, we’ll go to Slate Cafe.”

*****

I drove past the intersection of Main and Broad Streets and took my first right onto North Lane. Ari tapped the car window and said, “I wanna go to that place.”

“That’s Tomato Pie Cafe, Ari!”

“Oh,” he responded.

A rainbow grilled cheese sandwich and a side of applesauce on a white plate.
Isabelle’s favorite meal at Tomato Pie. I mean, if I could eat gluten, I’d want to eat a sandwich that looked like that too!

“I told you that you liked Tomato Pie!” (While we haven’t eaten there in over a year, we used to eat at Tomato Pie Cafe a few times a year.”

“Is that where we went with Lynne and Ralph?” Ari asked.

“Yes!” Isabelle and I replied.

“Let’s eat there.”

{🙄}

*****

Ari had Mac & Cheese. Isabelle ate a rainbow grilled cheese. They both ordered Leprechaun cookies for dessert. And, just like we have had during past lunches there, we had a peaceful meal.

13 thoughts on “Lunchtime Showdown

  1. Oh, I feel your mama-frustrations in this slice! I love the way you started out the piece so frazzled that you weren’t even sure where to begin, it brought me right into how you were feeling about the whole situation. I’m glad you ended up with a peaceful meal in the end. 

    P.S. That is the most beautiful sandwich I’ve ever seen!

  2. The lunch place decision is not an easy one. I sometimes feel that if the “Where to go?” lasts too long, the hunger would grow unbearable and the lunch would end up being a sandwich from a gas station. I am glad that you found a lovely place that everyone enjoyed.

  3. I can hear the frustration of their indecision pulsing through your slice. I’m glad they finally agreed on a place. That rainbow bread looks so fun!!

  4. Really leaning on dialogue and it’s a great choice for pushing the feelings of frustration front and center. Also, there’s so much significance in (what should be) such seemingly insignificant things for kids. Thanks for this moment, I see you!

  5. Oh my gosh, even thought the bickering is hard on a mama’s ears, the first part of your slice had me giggling. And I didn’t see the punchline coming! Glad it was a peaceful lunch. Hopefully it was tasty too!

  6. You take me back, Stacey. I lived with bickering for years compliments of my five kids. Now, when we take some of the grandkids out, I say to my husband, “Let’s decide ahead of time where we are going,” to avoid a problem. Trust me, it’s much easier when your grandparents. Hang in there!

  7. Why is it that siblings are so expert about fighting over (what seems to me like) nothing? How does that happen? And the fact that Ari was just like, “oh, I like that place” as you passed by…that’s just the cherry on top! Here’s hoping the rest of your weekend was a little smoother.

  8. Are siblings genetically programmed not to agree on a place to eat out? It was true for my two sons and I watch the same thing play out with my two grandsons! (That rainbow grilled cheese looks amazing!). Glad all turned out well in the end!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.