games · slice of life

Beagle or Bagel?

Beagle or Bagel?

That’s the name of the visual perception game Ari and I purchased at the local independent book store. It sounded easy enough when I read the back of game box. However, when I opened Beagle or Bagel this evening — with the intention of playing the easiest version of the game with Ari — I discovered I couldn’t figure out how to play the game. Despite the visual rules looking simple, there was an aspect of them that was unclear.

Ari busied himself with a Lego toy while I attempted to figure out how to play Beagle or Bagel.

At first, I thought I couldn’t understand what to do because Ari was anxious to get started. But, I couldn’t figure out what to do with the “double beagle” and the “double bagel” cards even after reading the directions for the first version of the game four times! I went to YouTube and searched for a video of how to play the game. While I came across the rules of all three versions of the game, I’ve gotta tell you… it went way too fast for me to figure it out.

I’m hoping to enlist the help of my husband to play a game or two of it with me before trying it with the kids again. Because, quite frankly, I refuse to let a game called Beagle or Bagel get the best of me!

Head over to Two Writing Teachers for more slice of life stories.

13 thoughts on “Beagle or Bagel?

  1. Sounds like you and your husband have a date night with a beagle and a bagel! I can only imagine the frustration of not understanding what should have been simple directions! This sure does beg for a follow up slice! Oh and that picture of Ari, such a sweet, intent face!

  2. Oh, the frustration at what should be so simple! How often does this occur, though, in daily life? A major snag in the smallest things can be the most aggravating. What an intriguing-sounding game. I am curious. Also – super random: This made me recall that, eons ago, Barry Manilow had a beagle named Bagel, which sparked my sister and I to name our new puppy Bagel. Back to you – kudos for being non-defeatist! You WILL beat this game! I have faith!

    Thanks so much for the quote share/ shout-out today. 🙂

  3. Confession: I am horrible with game instructions. Completely challenged. I prefer learning from someone who already know how to play.

  4. I am not at all familiar with this game – but, for some reason, delighted that your son had the experience of you NOT getting something right away…isn’t this the best learning of all? I hope the game is lots of fun!

  5. OMG, just the other night three totally capable adults tried to learn to play the game “Unstable Unicorns.” It didn’t happen! I do not know what is going on with these new, abstruse games. (Do I sound like an old grump? If the shoe fits…)

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.