COVID-19 · food · post-op life · slice of life

Supporting a Local Restaurant #SOL20

We are fortunate to have a burgeoning food scene in Lancaster. I worry that’s going to be curtailed as a result of COVID-19 since the restaurants in the City of Lancaster are restricted to take-out and delivery only now that Governor imposed stricter guidelines on restaurants (and non-essential businesses) on Monday afternoon. Therefore, nearly every restaurant in the City with an Instagram page has been promoting their take-out and delivery options. Of course, I haven’t been able to take advantage of any of them since I’ve been stuck in bed recovering from surgery.

HOWEVER, I had a wound check (Doesn’t that sound glamorous?!) appointment at 10 a.m. this morning. I had lots of questions since I am worried I won’t be able to get in for my six-week post-op appointment, due to COVID-19 possibly shutting down the orthopedic office. Therefore, we didn’t drive away from orthopedics until it was nearly lunchtime. I decided today was the day to do a take-out lunch from a Lancaster restaurant I hadn’t tried yet. If not now, when?

We picked Silantra Asian Street Kitchen. I wanted to pick Silantra for two reasons. First, I’ve been wanting to try it since we moved to town last summer, but hadn’t. Second, they’ve been giving away toilet paper to folks who don’t have it/cannot find it in the stores and/or can’t afford to stock up. While we’re fine on toilet paper in our house, I appreciate how they’re giving back to those in need during what’s a hard time for their business.

We enjoyed our meal, which we devoured in our car. Here’s what I ate:

As we drove home, I remarked that our gem of an eating town is going to change if COVID-19 keeps businesses closed (and/or requires truncated hours) for more than the two weeks stipulated by the Governor on Monday. I cannot imagine it’ll be safe for us to go back to “business as usual” by the end of this month given that the first case of the novel coronavirus was discovered in our county this morning. Despite the uncertainty, there’s one thing I know for sure: we have to try to do take out orders from independently owned restaurants a couple of times a week to help keep them afloat.

I guess that means I need to think of where we’re going to order out from next!

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.org on Tuesdays for more slice of life stories.

20 thoughts on “Supporting a Local Restaurant #SOL20

  1. I love the Lancaster food scene! My tennis team has visited this gem of a place for the past two summers for our WTT tournament. All the best as you navigate these ever changing times. The food looks delicious!

  2. I’ve never been to Lancaster. Perhaps nice all this has past I’ll be able to visit there. Love the idea 💡 of ordering take out. It will seem like an adventure. Also I think buying gift cards now for use later also helps local businesses. Glad you were able to have that treat today. Looks yummy.

  3. That food looks delicious! We’ve been trying to support local businesses, too – I have a feeling this is going to last much longer than 2 weeks & local businesses definitely need our support. (I’m also glad that you got checked today; fingers crossed that all continues well & you either don’t need another check or are easily able to get one.)

    1. I’m supposed to go back into weeks and two days. I’m hoping that I will be able to go since they need to x-ray my foot to make sure everything is healing properly. We shall see, but I’m a little nervous about it.

      The hospital where I had my surgery just canceled all elective surgeries as of tomorrow morning. Elective it doesn’t mean nose job, it means things like my foot. So I’m pretty happy that I had my surgery before this happened, I just hope that I’m able to get the proper physical therapy so that this doesn’t become a lifelong problem.

  4. I’m glad you got to go out and support a local business, especially with things in such a moment-by-moment time of change right now! It’s amazing how quickly this has evolved, isn’t it?

  5. Oh, I am ready to order take out from that restaurant today! Yummy! I am glad you were able to be out and about, even if it was only a trip to the doctor’s office and to pick up some takeout. Wow! Giving away toilet paper – now that is a novel approach to attract customers and to help out at the same time! We are getting emails from The Metropolitan and The Green Fork – and even though they are 25 minutes away from our house, we will try to do some takeout over the weekend to support them. I am afraid this may go on for another 8 to 10 weeks. I do hope all these businesses can stay afloat. Love to you and your family.

  6. We have a subscription to the Fulton and enjoy the Lancaster restaurants. Too far for us to order take-out, though. Glad you made your appointment and supported a local business as well. We all need to do our part.

  7. Our Austin Franklin BBQ went to takeout this week, too–which made the news, since lines are usually forming around the block well before lunchtime. I’m glad that restaurants are allowed to do this, to keep folks employed (and the rest of us fed!). I may have to talk my husband into takeout this evening, if only for an excuse to get out of the house!

  8. I haven’t been to Lancaster in years but we used to love it. It was such a rural, peaceful retreat and I used to photograph all those cows. Glad to hear you were out and about, so to speak, and that you had some delicious food. It is so important to patronize independent restaurants. We did Outback take-out this week, but I think we’ll do more from non-chain restaurants. Hang in there.

  9. We are in the same predicament in Central New York. Honestly, I have not had the urge to eat out. I know that the food is being prepared correctly (at least, I hope), but I am enjoying home cooked meals with the family (this never happens because of after-school sports and activities). Today, I will venture out to my favorite brewery for a growler fill up – it is a pick-up service (so creative), and tomorrow night, take-out dinner at my favorite locally-owned place.:)

  10. When I think of eating in Lancaster I only think of the Amish owned restaurants! I’ve been there many times. 🙂 I’m glad your wound is doing well. Even though that isn’t glamorous, it’s still important!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.