lists · meme · slice of life

Currently

This post was inspired by Bev Baird, a fellow Slice of Life Story Challenge, or SOLSC, participant.

CURRENTLY

Listening: To “I Could Not Ask for More,” which is my wedding song over and over. Isabelle has recently become obsessed with this song and she requests to hear it several times a day (i.e., in the car, while brushing her teeth). Even though Isabelle is at preschool while I type this blog post, I can still hear the song playing in my head, even though my house is technically silent.

Eating: Gluten-free! I miss chocolate chip cookies, cupcakes, bagels, and so much more. I have been feeling better since I started it so I guess it’s a good thing. Isabelle keeps asking me why I don’t eat pizza or cereal anymore.  I’ve had to teach her that certain foods have gluten in them.  She says “goo-ten” with her voice getting higher in pitch by the end of the word. It’s like she’s asking a question every time we discuss my gluten-free diet.

Drinking: Green iced tea. Not because I love it, but because I’ve been trying to cut back on my caffeine intake.

IMG_1551
Sweater Selfie (sans face)

Wearing: An old cashmere sweater I bought 10 – 15 years ago.  It’s warm and soft. It has a few holes around the neck and is pretty ugly.  BUT, I love it anyway.  It’s the perfect sweater to wear at home for a day of writing.

Reading: Lots of Slice of Life Stories since we’re on day four of an ultra writing marathon, otherwise known as the SOLSC.  In terms of books, I am planning to start The Nightingale this evening. It was recommended by several friends who helped me out with book suggestions since nothing in my TBR pile was speaking to me.

Feeling: Tired of winter, which isn’t like me since the cold usually doesn’t bother me.  This winter is the exception.  It’s been just too much!  Springtime can arrive any time now since I’m sick of bundling myself and Isabelle up.  (Did I ever mention she detests the cold?) It’ll be so nice to get rid of the boots and the jackets!

Wanting: I love to cook, but I wish someone else could make dinner tonight.  Isabelle refuses to eat chicken.  Guess what I’m supposed to make tonight?  Chicken.  (Maybe what I really want is for her to  eat what I make without protesting…)

Needing: My daughter to go to bed a little earlier and to sleep a little later now that she’s no longer napping.  She’s so tired by the end of the day, but just fights sleep.  I don’t know how she does it. By the end of a day with her, I’m exhausted?  She’s like the Energizer Bunny.  (Lucky her!)

Thinking: I’m so glad I had the foresight to lighten my workload this month. I’m not going out of town and pre-planned to do a little less writing this month so I could spend more time focusing on the SOLSC. We have a record number of new participants this year.

Enjoying: I recently bought Yasso’s Sea Salt Caramel Greek Frozen Yogurt Bars.  They’re 150 calories and gluten-free.  It’s the perfect way to get my chocolate fix without feeling guilty.

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com on Tuesday for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.

15 thoughts on “Currently

  1. I love this format. It really helps to stay in the moment exploring wha is around and on the mind. Reading your answers brought you closer to me. I wish I had more time to read more slices. In feel I miss out on many wonderful people and stories.

  2. Love this way to think, write, and share…..and I, a lover of winter, share the desire for spring. If nothing else, just not having to put so many clothes on, particularly mylittle granddaughter, sounds like freedom. Ahhh…just to walk out the door in t- shirt, shorts and tennis shoes.

  3. Love your detailed thoughts for each. I’ve been trying to go gluten free as well. But still waiting for my stomach to feel better. That has to be the greatest challenge – a child fighting sleep. “This too shall pass” – I still use this phrase for so many things!

  4. As I read this, I can’t help but think how I’d describe my “currently.” Just may do this one of these days! Thanks for the inspiration (and the spread sheet BTW…genius idea 🙂

  5. Currently is truly a slice in a day. I predict this will be used again and again. It’s also good to know that everyone has the “what-in-the-world-am-I-going-to-write” moment.

  6. This is a great idea. What a nice way to have a little peek into someone’s world. Thank you for all you do with the challenge. It is quite a community you’ve helped grow over the years. The challenges I host are usually few and far between, and I know how much work they are. I’m sure it takes a lot of energy and planning to work at this pace for an entire month.

    Cathy

  7. I’m tucking this format away for when that day comes when writing seems impossible. (Probably tomorrow after tonight’s conferences.) I appreciate the SOL challenge so much, thanks for the work you have put in to this effort. Those yogurt bars sound delightful! I’ll be trying to find those!

  8. Love this format and will have to borrow it for sure over the next few weeks. Funny, I have a green sweater like the one you write about…I love it, but Scott rolls his eyes when I wear it – it is ugly sweater personified.

  9. I love this format, too! I think it is going to appear again on several blogs during March. I love reading the posts and getting ideas from what others write. Mostly I’ve been writing memoirs, but this will bring me more into the moment.

  10. Juicy Slice. Good to know I’m not the only one who was stuck today. I think it’s nice to have this strategy in my back pocket now 🙂

  11. Love the idea from Beverley, and from you, love that you have that old cashmere sweater. I have an old wool one that I wear, but the whole family uses it when visiting if needed. It’s a cardigan, & an “extra” layer. My daughter is going through the same thing with the younger girl-4 next July, but giving up the nap, & so, so tired at the end of the day. It does get better…

  12. This format is a great idea, Stacey. I’m glad you shared it today, as I missed it on Bev’s blog. (Too many posts to keep up with!) I’ve been gluten free for almost two years, and it has made a big difference with a number of different symptoms. Good luck getting Isabelle to sleep!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.