food · slice of life

Egg and English Muffins

We’re snowed-in today.  My husband drove my SUV to work.  Seeing as I don’t want to go slipping and sliding all over the road in his car, we’re in for the day.

Being in for the day means I have time to make a more elaborate breakfast. I decided to try making egg muffins I pinned to my Gluten-Free Eats board.  I unpacked the silicone muffin pan from the box and rounded-up Isabelle.

The finished product!
The finished product!

“I’m going to make egg muffins for breakfast. Would you like some?”

“No,” she said. “I no like egg muffins.”

“I do not like egg muffins,” I corrected.

“I DO not like egg muffins,” she parroted back.

“But you’ve never had them before.  How do you know you don’t like them?”

She was holding her ground. “I do not like them.”

“Well, I’m going to make mine with vegetables, but I’ll make yours with just cheese.”

“I want cold ceweeuhl,” she declared.

“Cheerios or Golden Grahams?” I asked.  Yes, I was giving up.

“Cold ceweeuhl,” she whined.

“Cheerios or Golden Grahams?” I asked again.

No response. Instead she walked away. She went to her office. playroom.

I sauteed mushrooms and spinach.  I scrambled the eggs.  I placed the silicone pan in the oven and let the magic happen.

With just 12 minutes left, Isabelle plodded into the kitchen.  “I’m hungry!”

“The egg muffins are almost done. Stand back from the oven and I’ll show you what they look like.”

I opened the oven. We peered in together.

This is what my 4 year-old choose to eat instead.
This is what my 4 year-old choose to eat instead.

“I don’t like egg muffins.  I want an Engwish muffin!”

Well, at least she went for some kind of muffin.

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com  for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
21 thoughts on “Egg and English Muffins

  1. I love how kids think. Sometimes it helps to talk in world of opposites, such as, “I’m having egg muffins, do you want a plain English Muffin?” This does not work, by the way, when they catch on to your plan. PS I am home in the snow, too. There seems to be a lot of that going around!

    1. I’m willing to try anything, Anita. She’s been quite difficult when it comes to eating. She’s essentially a vegetarian, but she’s a bad vegetarian since she doesn’t like the high-protein foods good vegetarians eat. She used to be such a good eater. Then she turned three!

  2. Stacey, I love reading your stories about Isabelle. Snow days do encourage comfort foods and I guess Isabelle knew what would comfort her little belly. She is a delightful child. (Snow raging storm day here.)

  3. Haha…the whole time I was reading, I kept thinking, “I do not like them, Sam I am!” What a great post that gives insight to the daily challenge of motherhood, but also the word-to-word process of language acquisition and its practice. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I had to chuckle at the reference to her office. That was great. They grow out of it. I actually had to take Liam to CHOP to consult about his diet (wrote a little about his food preferences in today’s chapter). He has gotten a lot better. It takes time and experience.

  5. Breakfast has always been a battle I choose not to fight with my three kids, since there doesn’t seem to be a single second to spare for holding my ground as we get ready in the morning 🙂 Dinner has always been the meal that everyone has to eat whether you like it or not. This post made me smile. Thanks, and keep up the good work, Mom! ~ Jen and Darla

  6. Crikey you are preaching to the choir. I make scrumptious kid-friendly food (supposedly) and pull my hair out when they ask for Cheerios instead. I personally would have sat with you and shared egg sandwiches.

  7. Isabelle and my Tommy might be kindred spirits. It’s so frustrating at times. Yet, I love how you’ve captured the voice that comes with these conversations. Hang in there mama! Here’s to all the muffins…

    1. I think I’ve found about 4 kids (i.e., your Tommy, my Isabelle, someone else’s Lily, and maybe one more kiddo) who are all four and giving their Slicer mommies a tough time about food. Argh! Hang in there, Kendra!

  8. Oh wow those look gooooood. My little girl does okay trying new things, so far… I’m really hoping she doesn’t turn into picky eater I was when I was a kid!

  9. Four has been good to us! The closer we got, the bigger the food repertoire. Now, at 4 and 2 months, Claire is eating more than ever. I expect it to last about 1 more month and then we’ll be back to spaghetti and pancakes for every meal. 🙂

    1. Haha! It sure does work like that, doesn it, Lisa?
      Well, after having a little talk with Isabelle, I got her to eat beef, rice, and green beans last night. I’m making chicken for Shabbat tonight so I have a feeling she’ll eat challah and then claim she’s too full to eat chicken. Grrrr!

  10. I swear this is an undocumented (or maybe documented?) stage of development. The picky eater stage. Maddie is still in it, and Katie is in it now, too! And she used to eat everything!!

    BTW, I love Isabelle’s dialogue in this piece.

  11. Yikes! Being a mom takes so much patience! And like several others, I love the way you have captured Isabelle’s voice! I feel like I am right there in the kitchen with your junior executive!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

