OBSERVATIONS · pretend play · slice of life

Packing for a Sea Journey

20140319-161005.jpgIsabelle wanted a plastic cup atop my husband’s dresser.  I gave it to her.

Isabelle wanted to use my Pilates box while I was using my tower this morning.  I got it for her.

“Which side do you want? The flat top or the inside?” I asked.

“Inside,” she replied confidently.

I lifted the box to the center of the room, placed it upside down, and went back to my exercises.  That’s when Isabelle went to work.

She decided to make the box into a boat.  She put the cup inside, since she wanted refreshment.  She gathered some books, because she knows you’ve gotta have reading material.  Then, she went back and forth between her room and the room where the boat was docked to add stuffed animals and blankets.  I wasn’t sure she’d be able to fit inside, but she did.

She played inside of her boat for almost a half hour, giving me more than enough time to get my body ready for the day ahead.  As much as I loved the time for myself, I relished in watching her create a whole play scenario for herself. There’s no way this would’ve happened six months ago. Her play is really evolving. What a treat it is to get to witness the way her pretend play is growing.

But the neat freak in me has to admit what my favorite part was… she cleaned up! All of the stuffed animals, books, and blankets went back at the end of her sea journey. All that was left for me to do was to but the Pilates box back in the corner of the room!

Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.
Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.

15 thoughts on “Packing for a Sea Journey

  1. Very cute! I love imagination at work. My sons are fort builders. Often castles sometimes pirate ships am done them it was the grocery store. Imagination is a beautiful thing!

    1. I wish I could say that happened in her play room on a regular basis, but it doesn’t. I think she’s just tired of hearing me harp on her about cleaning up when she plays in other parts of our home.

  2. She has quite the imagination. I enjoyed reading how you allowed her the freedom to create her own scene just the way she wanted it and she had definite ideas about what she wanted. 🙂

    1. She’s starting to make great strides, Bonnie. Thanks to 5-6 sessions/week + home practice, she’s progressing nicely. She still has a ways to go with her medial sounds and a variety of motor planning, but I love the progress. (Though I do feel like I’m “Mommy Speech Therapy” 24/7, which I’m sure she gets tired of!)

  3. I miss those days of “play.” My kids would play in a box or under a tent made of blankets for hours! She is precious. I know you enjoy these moments but I will say it again – enjoy! 🙂

  4. I love this! I love watching kids with imaginative play. It is an exciting and all to fleeting time of life! I’m glad you got to enjoy it while you exercised.

  5. Boxes, cardboard or Pilates one, give such a great place for a pretend play. Isabelle’s imagination allowed her to have a full adventure. I like how she practiced saying the word “under” after you encouraged her to repeat after you. The last time it sounded perfect.

  6. Wow…she put everything away at the end of her play. What a gift to be able to observe your child in this type of play…and seeing her grow in her play. (wonder if she is getting some of her mother’s neat freakiness!) Jackie

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.