food · outdoors · slice of life

Strawberry Fields Forever

This past weekend was special for me and Ari. It reminded me of the simple yet treasured activities we enjoyed during the pandemic’s peak. We slowed down, savored the little things, and focused on being together as a family. Revisiting some of our old favorite activities helped me connect with Ari meaningfully.

First, I suggested we walk on a rail trail to break in Isabelle’s new hiking books. Initially, Ari didn’t want to come. (“You’re seven, and you can’t stay home alone,” was my first method of convincing him. My second was, “You get to pick where we have ice cream after the hike.” That did the trick!” During the pandemic, the rail trails provided a much-needed escape. This weekend, we explored a new trail, enjoying the beauty of the farmland and the enormous horses beside the trail while we walked. In the end, Ari did well on the walk. Despite Isabelle’s groaning about the heat, we enjoyed each other’s company without distractions.

Holding a ripe strawberry with gray clouds and a strawberry field in the background.

Despite the 86-degree afternoon heat, we went strawberry picking after lunch. During the pandemic, berry picking (and stone fruit picking… and apple picking…) was a beloved family activity. This weekend, we visited a local berry farm that is not only the least expensive one around us but has the sweetest berries! (Trust me… we tried five different strawberry fields in 2021 alone!) Seeing the excitement on Ari’s face as he searched for the ripest berries reminded me of the simple pleasures in life. 

At one point, I asked him, “Do you still like strawberry picking with me?” 

“Yeah,” Ari said. A moment later, he asked, “Can we make the strawberry spoon cake we made last year?”

“Sure we can, buddy,” I said. 

You never know when you’re experiencing something with your children for the last time because they feel like they’ve outgrown it. As I sat there, savoring every large, heart-shaped berry we found and insisted on showing to each other, my heart clenched, underscoring the significance of cherishing these moments.

One of my favorite activities to do with Ari is baking. Lately, however, he has yet to be interested in doing more than helping to remove some of the ingredients from the cabinets. But this weekend, we baked several things with strawberries together. We read the recipes, measured the ingredients, mixed the dough, and checked each item at the end of the baking time. I felt a sense of warmth and closeness to Ari that had been missing lately.

This weekend was particularly special because it helped me reconnect with Ari beyond his passion for sports. While I love seeing his enthusiasm for baseball and basketball, I miss the deeper connections we used to have when he was preschool age. Revisiting some of these cherished activities allowed us to bond in a way that transcended our usual conversations about games and scores. It reminded me that beneath Ari’s love for sports, he is still the same boy who enjoys walking, berry picking, and walking with his mom.

As we embark on a new week, I am grateful for the chance to rediscover the joy of simple, meaningful activities with Ari. It’s a powerful reminder that amidst the busyness of everyday life with school-age kids, it’s crucial to hold onto the things that forge lasting memories.

RECIPES WE MADE THIS WEEKEND:

Orange Slice with Slice of Life and Two Writing Teachers URL
Head over to Two Writing Teachers for more slice of life stories.

18 thoughts on “Strawberry Fields Forever

  1. What a wonderful way to be together. I don’t have children, but I’m spent many an afternoon berry, apple, or pumpkin picking with my students. It’s fun watching a field of children in pure delight. And then extend the delight to baking. Your photos and recipes are amazing. I think I’ll try that spoon bread! Thanks Stacey and Ari! And yes treasure each and every moment.

  2. This part: You never know when you’re experiencing something with your children for the last time because they feel like they’ve outgrown it.

    Ack, so true! I must say I am a bit jealous that you have all these slices of their growing up years- I can only write those from a distance, as I did not write them when my kids were kids!

    1. I remember the nights when I rocked Ari in the middle of the night. I found myself exhausted, but careful to hold onto those moments since I knew our family was complete. I love that he still wants to do stuff with his mom… that’s rapidly changing now that he has a life of his own!

  3. You’re so right about the last things and not knowing they’re the last. Treasure and savor whenever you can! I always forget how much further ahead you are in the seasons– we have a while before any possibility of spoon cake!

  4. The strawberry spoon cake looks so delicious! Last things are so bittersweet, but then I think so many kids will return to loving those same activities when they are older. So I think there eventually can be a return.

  5. Funny, I was thinking about those last kid moments this past week. It hit me that they come around again when the grandkid shows up in our lives. It is great to see my daughter want to do those favorite things from her childhood with her son. Life is pretty special with there are kids around – little and big ones!

  6. Such a warm piece, layered with poignancy. I can feel the sun on you three and picture the showing each other the perfect heart-shaped fruits. I second what Erika said above- I envy you these slices reminding you of so many sweet moments with your children.

    Finally, thanks for including the recipes!

    1. And here I wish I captured more of the stories… I used to have a daily, family-only blog about Isabelle when she was young. Then Mr. Ari came along and I couldn’t keep up!

  7. You will be amazed when your children are older the memories that they hold close to their hearts. Strawberry picking will be one of them. Thanks for including the recipes. Can’t wait to try the spoon cake.

  8. Your comments about the value of those quiet connected times during the pandemic are so meaningful and in my opinion, so true. I spent most pandemic days with then 2 and 4 year old grandchildren. We walked a local park daily and explored the magic of wild blueberries along with the magic of afternoons with Charlotte’s Web and Mr Popper’s Penguins. We washed chairs and cars to cool off! Now, they are very busy with swim team, lacrosse, baseball and endless activities. It is hard to find time to connect. I might try to find a strawberry patch with accommodating hours!

    1. You’ve probably got another week or two until strawberry season up in NY. I am quite confident that even with all of their activities, they’ll enjoy a saturday in the strawberry fields with you too!

  9. Stacey, I love that you find so many ways of connecting with Ari. His ability to enjoy baking and picking berries and slowing down to spend time with his mother is such a beautiful thing. You are instilling the value of spending time with people in him. Today our air conditioner man came for the second time already this season, but we couldn’t be here to let him in so we told him to come on in and left the door unlocked. When my husband called me to tell me the air was fixed, he said the repairman had noticed all the chocolate peppermint plants I have growing out back by the deck and asked if he could take some to transplant. My husband told him to take all he wanted and to help himself to some cold water in the fridge. I thought how neat it was to have an a/c repairman asking to transplant mint plants. I think that’s because he had a family member who showed him the beauty of foods and herbs and spent some time teaching him how to savor all the flavors of life. Mothers and sons together in the kitchen – – magic!

  10. I like remembering some of the things we did during the pandemic too. I’m glad you had this time with Ari and Isabelle to walk and pick strawberries and then to be with Ari in the kitchen. I have six grands and they all love to help in the kitchen. I’m sure it won’t always be this way, but I treasure the kitchen memories now.

    Thanks for including the recipes. I’ve never had Strawberry Spoon Cake!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.