college · friends · slice of life

Playing Hooky from Life

Whenever I go out of town by myself, I’m consulting in a school district, doing a speaking engagement, or attending a conference. My husband and I go away without the kids a couple times a year. But that’s pretty much the extent of my travel sans kids. So, today, I felt like I was playing hooky from my life as a professional and as a mom since I had a day of pure pleasure in Manhattan with two of my oldest friends: Stacey & Marc.

I got into Manhattan a little earlier than necessary so I could walk around SoHo. Then, we met for lunch at Sadelle’s (which has the best freshly-baked gluten-free bagels I’ve ever tasted!). When we saw each other, we enveloped each other in the tightest hugs you could imagine. After all, it’s been three years since I’ve seen Marc (who moved to the East Coast after years in L.A.) and five-and-a-half years since I’ve seen Stacey (who lives in Israel).

We spent hours at lunch. Around 3 p.m. we took the Subway uptown to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. We enjoyed several exhibits. My favorite was Public Parks, Private Gardens: Paris to Provence, which was filled with French Impressionist paintings.

Daylight savings time gave us a false sense of time so we walked through Central Park — including the Ramble — in an effort to get to the West Side. Before we knew it, it was after 6 p.m.!

We parted ways a little before 7:00 p.m. We squeezed each other as tight as knots when we said good-bye vowing that we wouldn’t go so long between visits.

Tomorrow I return home and to my usual life. After all, playing hooky isn’t special if you do it often.

I walked a lot today!

11 thoughts on “Playing Hooky from Life

  1. What a delightful treat, Stacey! Your joy was evident throughout your post, and when you said you “hugged each other as tight as knots”, I could feel how much this meant to you. Everybody needs to “play hooky” once in a while, right?

  2. Sometimes we just have to play kooky! “We squeezed each other tight as knots.” I love this line. I am seeing a high school friend Wednesday who is home (Indiana) from California. She has some medical issues and I know I will be squeezing her the same way – because I miss her but also to keep out the fear.

  3. It’s fabulous that you were able to connect. The three of you were glowing with excitement and happiness. It’s funny that you called it playing hooky! With the kind of work you do, I’m sure it was more like a mini vacation. You deserve the love and the treat!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.