slice of life

The Time My Husband Sprang Two Hours Forward #sol16

I should write about:

Isabelle eating more whipped cream than chocolate chip pancakes at breakfast.
Isabelle eating more whipped cream than chocolate chip pancakes at breakfast.

But I really want to write about the fact I thought my iPhone was broken — even after two hard resets — because it didn’t spring forward this morning. (It was an hour behind the clock in the room.)

I should write about:

Isabelle helping herself to the SIXTH apple of our trip in the hotel lobby.
Isabelle helping herself to the SIXTH apple of our trip in the hotel lobby.

But I really want to write about thinking my husband and daughter slept past 9:00 a.m. this morning! (Too bad I didn’t sleep in.)

I should write about:

Cousin Hallie returning a little earlier than expected from her spring vacation. We had the chance to eat lunch and go to the Creamery with her before we left State College.
Cousin Hallie returning a little earlier than expected from her spring vacation. We had the chance to eat lunch and go to the Creamery with her before we left State College.

But I really want to write about the moment I realized, at 10:30 a.m. (which was really 9:30 a.m.) that my husband accidentally set the alarm clock in the hotel room two hours forward, instead of one hour forward, before we went to bed last night. I realized I rushed them to breakfast for nothing. I realized they hadn’t slept in after all. I realized I wouldn’t have to spend hours on the phone with AppleCare trying to figure out why my phone didn’t spring forward because it had — in fact — sprung forward. The problem wasn’t with my phone, it was with my dear husband’s inability to spring forward one hour.

I should’ve written about all of these other things in great detail because I love my husband. He’s a brilliant man who rarely goofs up. I don’t want to embarrass him in this space. However, the one thing I never want to forget about today was the fact that Marc sprung us two hours forward instead of one because we laughed about it — hard! Plus there was a silver lining: I gained the hour back when I realized what happened.

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.

27 thoughts on “The Time My Husband Sprang Two Hours Forward #sol16

  1. Stacey–maybe your husband is on to something! This could be a great way to counteract the stress of losing an hour–lose two and get one back! Does that mitigate the pain at all? Probably not but thanks for the entertaining slice.

  2. Well, it’s a good thing that you can laugh about it now. I wonder what will happen when we change our clocks back in the fall!

    1. I think we need to stay home that weekend so I can verify the time on multiple clocks. (I don’t think this confusion would’ve happened if we weren’t in a hotel.)

  3. I loved the playfullness of the pattern of your post, and what app did you use for the photos? Good thing the only thing that was screwed up was your sense of time and not a missed wedding or something. I’d give anything to find an hour.

    1. It’s called WalaxyPic. It’s like Waterlogue, but it allows you to create pencil drawings (like the ones you see above), in addition to watercolor. Then, you can put a galactic overlay over them.

  4. A great read, Stacey! Filled with humor. I have been hunting down a program to use with Samsung Galaxy and a PC to posterize photos. I think you are using an iphone app – I love it! Such a wonderful story evolving around the spring ahead with clocks. A model to show students that stories really can come from anywhere and anything – the everyday life things. We do not have to look very far to be able to pick up our pens and write! Thanks for sharing.

  5. I loved the playfulness here! Even though I hate adjusting to time changes it does feel weird here to never change our clocks! I would have given anything to have my kids (when they were Isabelle’s age) sleep that late! You can tell Isabelle is enjoying hotel life.

  6. So many pluses once you discovered the real reason for the time. This had me laughing all the way through. Poor Marc, will he ever live it down?

  7. So funny, Stacey, & such a positive outlook-you gained an hour! Maybe we should all try that. Sorry about the phone thing. You must have been quite alarmed!

  8. Funny. Certainly better to realize you have an extra hour than to find out that you forgot to turn the clock.

  9. Looks like there are a few ideas for slices in this post, Stacey! I had an appointment this morning and almost got up late because we didn’t change ALL the clocks in the house. Hey-there’s an idea for a slice! Thanks!

  10. Love everything about your post-the playful pattern, the craziness of the time change, and the posterized photos. What a great slice to end my night. I need some of that sleep back that I lost this weekend!

  11. I really enjoyed your format here, the should write about, but I really want to write about. It was fun to have a sort of see saw thought process and then have it all be tied together by your slice! Thanks!

  12. This piece made me laugh. We all have a hard time adjusting to loosing an hour of sleep, but two hours oh my goodness. Hope the rest of the day went well and that you and your family squeezed in a nap later on. I always think it is great when we can laugh at our mistakes,

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.