slice of life

Taking a Blogging Break

This is what I look like whenever I sit down at the computer to write.
This is what I look like whenever I sit down at the computer to write.

The Seventh Annual Slice of Life Story Challenge is complete. It was a fantastic month! While I write daily all year long, there’s something extra-special about writing publicly for 31 consecutive days. I love being part of a writing community: reading other people’s comments and commenting on other bloggers’ writing.

However, I’ve been plagued with arm pain for about two months now. I was supposed to rest my arm (i.e., not sit at the computer) while I was in the wrist brace, but that was nearly impossible since I was running the individual SOLSC!

Unfortunately, the month of March has made the pain worse. In order to sit down and write at the computer for more than five minutes, I have to hook myself up to a TENS unit, wear a padded elbow guard and a wrist brace. And that’s from wrist to trapezius musicles on the right side of my body!  I’m being treated for cubital tunnel by an occupational therapist. I have things I have to do at home, like ulnar nerve gliding exercises (don’t ask!).

Something’s gotta give!

And that something is this blog for the next few weeks.  I’ll continue blogging once/week in April over at Two Writing Teachers. However, I’m planning to take some time away from the computer so I can focus on other writing projects (which I’ll work on by hand) next month. I’ve got to rest my arm!

Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.
Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.

32 thoughts on “Taking a Blogging Break

  1. Gosh Stacey, Rest and recover. Good of you to recognize your need for a break, I might just bull through it. Not always the best choice. See you again next Tuesday.

  2. Oh my, you have been going through so much just to be here.

    May you find sweet rest and relief from the pain. Prayed for you this morning.

  3. I hope taking some time off relieves the pain for you. Sounds horrible. I give you a ton of credit. So many March postings and comments…you did it!

  4. Sounds like this is something you need to do in order to heal. Hope by taking some time to rest your healing will begin and move along. Glad that you recognize this and act on it. Take care and will hear from you when your healing is complete.

  5. Oh my. Hope you get “all better” soon. Do take care of yourself. And rest knowing that your contributions at Two Writing Teachers through the years can allow you to take this break and take care of yourself without having any second thoughts or concerns. Take good care!

  6. Stacey, rest and recover. I am having a lot of pain in my shoulder which radiates down to my forearm so I understand.

  7. Take good care of yourself. And, along with your many writing friends, I thank you for all the ways you give, share, teach and inspire.
    Hope you heal quickly and completely.

  8. Time to get serious about following doctor’s orders. Step away from the keyboard so you can rest and heal! Best wishes for your recovery from pain.

  9. Stacey,
    Wishing you a break that helps you to recover. I suppose Slice of Life is a little like a marathon. Time to take some time rest and get back in shape. Thank you for all you do. It sounds as if you can still handwrite without pain, thankfully.

    Cathy

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.