independence · OBSERVATIONS · picture books · slice of life

Reading the Knuffle Bunny Books

20140329-154950.jpg“Ring ring!” Pause. “We have your bunny.”

Is she reading Knuffle Bunny Too?

I peeked over the railing. My eyes went down the stairs into her play room. I saw nothing. I tiptoed down the stairs so she wouldn’t hear me. I peeked my head around the wall and saw her reading Knuffle Bunny Too aloud.  Not all of the words were said.  But as she turned the pages, she narrated the pictures with words she remembered from the book.

I’ve got to get my iPhone to capture this!

I checked my watch. 10:15-ish. I looked at myself. I wasn’t quite ready to leave for synagogue. But I had time. I couldn’t miss this. I darted up the stairs to my bedroom, grabbed my iPhone, and bounded back downstairs. By the time I arrived she had finished Knuffle Bunny Too and had picked up Knuffle Bunny Free.

“Whatcha doing?” I asked casually.

“Reading Knuffle Bunny!” Isabelle replied.

“Oh, I see. Which one?”

“Oma Opa House!” she stated as she pointed to Knuffle Bunny Free.

“That’s called Knuffle Bunny Free and it’s by Mo Willems.” I stated.

She ignored me, opened the front cover and began counting the Knuffle Bunnies flying through the air on the end pages. She turned the page and touched all of the photos of Trixie and her family just like I do. However, she didn’t say anything as she touched them. Finally, she began reading the story. That’s when I pressed RECORD on my phone.

Click here to watch the video of her reading aloud.

I absolutely love watching Isabelle’s reading development. I have a feeling she’d be saying a lot more words if it wasn’t so hard for her. Nonetheless, I think she’s doing a fantastic job! (And, yes, I know I embedded a teaching point into the video. I couldn’t help it. It just rolled off of my tongue.)

 

 

Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.
Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.

 

8 thoughts on “Reading the Knuffle Bunny Books

  1. I love watching her reading develop too! It has been great to see posts similar to this through the month. She is growing so much through the wall with the sticky notes you made and retelling stories. You have a little reader on your hands and the words will come. I know I have told you before, but my little girl with the same struggle (at school) has come soooo far with both reading, writing and speaking. She is a hard worker like Isabelle. So much to look forward to!

  2. I love watching her learn and grow as a reader and as a little person of confidence and conviction. I suspect she has a bit of her mom in her as well as a whole lot of mom behind and beside her!

  3. What fun to watch the reading development of Isabelle. You are indeed raising a literate being! If only all kids had this kind of home life. Such fun to watch!

  4. I was waiting to hear her say . . . “cause I love it so much I had to read it again!” Loved the video . . . thanks for sharing the slice of your life!

  5. Thanks Stacey for sharing these. I shared a couple of reading pics, too, of the grand girls. It’s so much fun to see their love of books already growing. I can hear the cadence of the story, “once upon a time” in her voice.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.