slice of life

A Better Morning

Like many parents, we struggle to get Isabelle out of bed in the morning. After all, no one really wants to get out of bed the moment an alarm clock goes off! Once we get her out of bed in the mornings (This job usually falls to my husband since I stay up late to give Ari his last bottle.), we need to support her through her morning routine or else we find her daydreaming. Hence, mornings have been filled with hurry-ups and more reminders than my husband and I can stand.

Madly searching for solutions, I touched-base with the bus driver the other day. I was pretty sure the pickup time was 7:15 a.m. To my surprise, I found out he changed the schedule so now Isabelle would be his second-to-last pickup instead of his second pickup. This would mean she’d be picked up at our front door at 7:50 a.m.! (I typically left the house with her at 7:35 a.m. to get her to school by 7:45 a.m. every morning.) If she were to take the bus to school, then she’d have 15 extra minutes in the morning, which could — dare I say it — make our mornings less rushed.

So we tried it today. Do you know what happened by the time she finished brushing her teeth and donning her shoes? We had time to play together! (Thankfully, Ari was still asleep, which is good since he had woken up at 5:25 a.m. for a too-early feeding this morning.)

Isabelle decided to do a page in her Puzzle Buzz book with me this morning. It was one she needed grown-up support to complete. Bonus: Now she knows how to do hidden codes on her own!

We finished the hidden code page two minutes before the bus pulled up to the house. I asked her, “Was this a better way to spend our time in the morning?” She nodded. I agree.

Isabelle has Recycling Club before school on Wednesday mornings so she has to get to school at 7:30 a.m. However, if the other four mornings can be a little more tranquil with her having an extra 15 minutes, then I’m all for it. (Plus, I don’t have to wake Ari up if she’s taking the school bus!) I have a feeling she’s going to be riding the school bus for the remainder of the school year.

11 thoughts on “A Better Morning

  1. Extra time in the morning? Sign me up! Alas, I drive my children to school since they go where I work. I love it. But our mornings can be pretty hectic.

  2. Anyway to get some tranquil mornings is so worth it. I don’t get those much in my house, but it’s something I strive for. My daughter is not a morning person and I dread the wake up. She’s also quite the day dreamer. Ah mornings!

  3. Time can equal a change in the quality of life. So glad the bus was re-routed. I remember my two sleepy headed daughters struggling with morning workday routines to go to day care before school. Not my happiest memory.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

