slice of life

CAGA: Walking Along the River

slice-of-life_individual
Head over to https://twowritingteachers.org for more slice of life stories.
I needed to get my daily workout in this morning since Ari had a well-baby checkup (and immunizations!) this afternoon. I figured I’d walk around my neighborhood, as I usually do, when I want to take a walk. However, we have family in town this week so I suggested the four of us go for a walk along the Susquehanna River in Harrisburg. It’s been years since I’ve walked along the River. (Like y-e-a-r-s. I think the last time I walked along the River was when Isabelle was Ari’s age!)

Ari and I broke away from the fam soon after we started walking since I was walking to burn a lot of calories (and therefore had a faster pace). With him asleep in his stroller, I was left to walk with my own thoughts. I could’ve listened to music on my iPhone, but I wanted to be aware of my surroundings. Therefore, I pushed the stroller and took in the scenery.

I drive down Front Street in Harrisburg regularly. However, I rarely slow down enough to notice the historic homes, much less the fact there are poignant quotations on plaques affixed to rocks all along the River’s toe path. But today was different. Today I walked — albeit at a quick place — and took in the sculptures and memorials that dot the walking path along the River. I even found a sunken garden!

Once I walked for a half-hour, I turned back and retraced my steps. At this point, one of my family members and I found each other on the path and walked back to our cars together. Both of us marveled that this part of the Capital Area Greenbelt is a treasure! As we walked, I made a silent promise to myself not to allow another six years to go by before walking along the River again.

FullSizeRender
I’ve always seen this sculpture from the road, but I’ve never seen this sculpture from the perspective.

Waterlogue-2017-04-03-16-29-23
Sleeping Baby & Sculpture

IMG_6188
I’ve always heard about the Holocaust Memorial in Harrisburg, but hadn’t seen it up close until today.

Waterlogue-2017-04-03-16-28-07
We made it to the M. Harvey Taylor Memorial Bridge!

IMG_6189
I discovered a sunken garden.

FullSizeRender_1
I noticed gargoyles atop this building as I was walking. Gargoyles!

IMG_6195
Look how much I walked before noon!

12 thoughts on “CAGA: Walking Along the River

  1. It was such fun to accompany you on your walk. The sculptures are wonderful! There’s clearly much to see and do along this stretch of the river. Wishing you many more enjoyable, contemplative walks!

  2. Thanks for taking us along on your walk! And for leaving off your music to make so that you took in the scenery. Thanks for the pics, too. Something tells me you hit 10,000 steps yesterday.

    1. I think I got close. I don’t have a Fitbit so I rely on my iPhone to count my steps. It said I did about 9,400 steps by the time I went to bed last night. Seeing as I don’t carry it around with me all day, I will assume I actually did 10,000. 🙂

  3. There are so many things out there that we frequently pass by without really seeing. Thanks for reminding us to slow down and enjoy our surroundings.

  4. Don’t let 6 years go by!! I think taking the time to get out of our zone, walk and look around us always saves us time in the end. I never push through when I feel stuck. I always take a break, get outside and move! Works every time — and Ari got a nap. Perfect
    Clare

  5. What a perfect way to spend a morning. So much available in your own back yard. The sculptures are unique, and the Holocaust Memorial was heartwarming. From a writing perspective, I like this part, “I rarely slow down enough to notice the historic homes, much less the fact there are poignant quotations on plaques affixed to rocks all along the River’s toe path.” It really sounds like a lovely place.

  6. It looks like a beautiful walk, Stacey – so much to notice! I am glad you were able to do it! I find that taking a walk or even a break to read a chapter or two is helpful when I am working on a project. Spring is a delightful time to be outside. I felt like I was taking a walk with you!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

