slice of life

Just a few more minutes…

Something in my gut told me Isabelle was not ready to go to school (even though she already picked out her Toy Day toy and had her shoes on). I looked at the time on my phone. 7:30 a.m. We had a few minutes to spare.

“Do you want to hold Ari for a few minutes?” I asked.

“Yeah!” she said.

She folded her legs like a pretzel, stuck her arms out at ninety-degree angles, and declared, “I’m ready for him.”

I passed Ari to Isabelle, cautioning her to “hold his head.”

“It’s so heavy!” she moaned.

“I know!” I said. “But you still have to support it. Strong arms.” I reminded.

“I can’t hold his head! It’s too heavy,” she whined

“What if I let him sit with you in a different way?”

“Puh-lease!” Isabelle said.

I removed Ari from her lap. Isabelle let out a sigh of relief. “Sit back with your legs out,” I said.

Isabelle complied. Then, I set Ari on her lap so she could wrap her arms around him like a teddy bear.

Ari fell into Isabelle’s body, which forced her to lean against his car seat that was on the floor behind her.

“I love you, Ari,” she declared. “But you’re getting really heavy.”

“He’s a growing boy!” I said.

“You’re a heavy, growing boy, Ari. But I still love you.” She planted a kiss on his head.

“Want me to take your picture?” I asked Isabelle.

“Sure,” she said. And then, in a high-pitched voice, we both said, “Smile, Ari!” at the same time.

Perfect.

Isabelle snuggled her baby brother for a few minutes. After they got their morning snuggles in, I determined it was time for us to hit the road. This time, she seemed ready.

Head over to https://twowritingteachers.org for more slice of life stories.
28 thoughts on “Just a few more minutes…

  1. Thank you for letting me start my day with such a sweet moment – a reminder that we need to lean on each other, make adjustments as we grow, and keep love in the world.

  2. Oh my he is so big already especially on her little body! I remember these days. Holding the baby was a nighttime reward for us and he loved it. My older guy was so sweet to his baby brother like this too. I think it’s why the little one is so generous with his love now. Bonding like this after breakfast and before school is a wonderful thing to write about and made my morning! I love the pic too. His smile, priceless!!!

  3. So much love here, Stacey! The photo is so sweet! I loved the way you describe how Isabelle sits, the positions, the sprinkling of dialogue, this beautiful bonding of big sister and little brother that makes my heart sing! Your precise writing helps me see them together and feel the love!

  4. I hope you create a book from these posts someday, Stacey. They will make a wonderful keepsake! “Smile, Ari!” And he did!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

