family

Parental Visit

I was awakened at 2:00 a.m. by Ari’s cries. My husband rocked him back to sleep. At 5:00 a.m., I heard Ari crying again. I trudged down the hall, scooped him up, and rocked him back to sleep. But he woke up as soon as I put him back in his crib so I l fed him. By the time I was finished, it was time for Isabelle to get up for school.

Needless to say, I was exhausted as a result of going to bed late and then being woken up twice last night. Luckily, my parents were in town this week. This afforded me with the chance to snooze until it was time to do Isabelle’s hair for school. And then I did something heavenly… thanks to my parents being here: I went back to sleep. 
I got out of bed again at 10:25 a.m.! I can’t remember the last time I saw that time on my night table’s clock! I worked for almost three hours and then left the house for an appointment. While I was out, my parents cared for Ari and Isabelle (once she returned home from school). I returned home to find two kids doing their thing under the watchful eye of my parents. Despite my fatigue, I remembered that I am lucky.

But now, they’re heading home. Unlike many of our neighbors and friends, we don’t have family nearby. I can’t call up my parents on a random afternoon and say, “Can you come over to help me?” Nope. We slog it out on our own (most of the time).

One day, I hope to live closer to my parents. For now, I’m thankful when they come to visit. At least tomorrow is a Saturday so my husband is around!

15 thoughts on “Parental Visit

  1. Oh I can relate to this! My parents live out of state. Jealous that my sister lives near them and my parents provide free daycare to her. My in-laws live nearby but they are older and really can’t take care of Emerson at this point. When my parents do come for a visit…it is so nice to have that support!

  2. I can so relate to this. 10:35 a.m. – You should get a plaque to commemorate. Grandparents are a gazillion miles away (almost literally) yet with a grandma here for a visit our little one didn’t have to come into school with us today, as teachers only got a one day weekend (again). Oh, the joy of visiting grandparents!

  3. Stacey, my heart breaks a bit for you, as I too wish your parents lived close by to you. I know it’s a blessing that I sometimes forget to appreciate myself. Thanks for sharing your heart with us.

  4. My kids (and I) would have definitely benefited from having grandparents nearby. As adults, they are forging strong relationships that distance prevented. Enjoy the visits and keep that 10:25 in your memory- I am sure you will not have that happen again any time soon.

  5. I’m so glad your parents were there for the week and that you were able to get some extra sleep. Sometimes I look back and wonder how we survived those early days with little ones and minimal support. Hope your parents can come again soon!

  6. I totally understand your sentiment. My parents live three hours away and they have never been closer than an hour- so we too have no one to just call on to help out. Glad you were able to get some extra sleep and enjoy their visit.

  7. I can empathize! My parents live 1300 miles away. When my kids were babies I really wished it was 13 miles!! My husband’s family is nearby but he is one of 8 boys so that wasn’t a nurturing support. Here’s to more sleep for you. It won’t always be like this. I’m glad your parents were there this last week.

  8. When my kids were young it was a Godsend to have one set of grandparents in town. They were always willing to drop everything and help, but best of all the deep love that my kids have for their Grammy and Grampy transcends through time and all worlds. 10:25 does sound heavenly.

  9. We did not have my parents or my in-laws nearby but we created our own family here in Boston. We always traded kids and helped each other in my neighborhood and with our close friends. I am so grateful to have a wonderful community — but it would have been nice to have local grandparents. Hang in there.
    Clare

  10. Well, you know I spend a lot of time with the girls, and when Carter lived here we did the same, but we lived far from our parents when my kids were growing up.We visited as much as we could & when the kids grew older, they would fly back to spend weeks in the summer. I love being a close grandma and was sad that my kids didn’t get that time like I did growing up. What a dilemma today. Many move far away and need to, but it’s hard to visit often. I’m glad you had your parents for a little while, and some good R & R, Stacey.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

