CONVERSATIONS · slice of life

What’s in a name?

My husband and I shared the news with Isabelle nearly three weeks ago. We spent the next two weeks calling our families to share the news. Then, we shared our announcement on Facebook last week. Now it’s time to share the news with my Slicer friends.

We’re expecting a baby this fall!

My first trimester was filled with fatigue and nausea. The past three weeks were going better. However, yesterday I received a diagnosis of placenta previa that will make my pregnancy a bit more high-risk. Overall, I feel good, but I’m a bit nervous about what’s to come. (Aren’t most expectant mothers nervous?) As I’ve said since I found out I was pregnant, I’m proceeding with cautious optimism.

But, on to the fun stuff. Naming the baby!

Isabelle wants to be involved. Take a listen to this audio recording to find out why Isabelle will not be in charge of picking her future baby brother’s name:

Isabelle is excited about being a big sister! She is constantly talking about all of the things she wants to do and share with the baby, which is adorable. She kisses my growing belly and talks to the baby at least once a day. All that said, she’s not going to be in charge of naming this sweet boy once he arrives. That will be up to me and Marc!

38 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. Chicken, Plate, Popcorn, Dirty Weeds, Shallow Weeds – oh my goodness! That was hysterical! And yes, I am glad that Isabelle will not be helping you and Marc with the naming of your son. Congratulations, dear friend! This is the best news ever!

    1. Thanks, Lynne. This went on for 20 minutes this morning. (And it’s been happening nearly every morning for the past week.) I sent her to her playroom to color because she couldn’t stop laughing. She’s finally calmed down. She even came up with a few normal names once she calmed down. (Granted, we’re not going to use them, but at least I know she’s capable of coming up with real names.)

  2. Isabelle reminds me of Clementine, from the Sara Pennypacker books. She called her brother by vegetable names. I don’t think we ever learned his real name. She also named her pets by looking in the bathroom. Her cat was named Moisturizer.

  3. Hilarious! I love hearing Isabella’s voice and your reactions to her. Isabella might rival Toni Morrison in the naming department. I’m sending good wishes to you and to baby brother, sister, and father for a successful pregnancy. Congratulations!

  4. Wahoo! Congratulations to you all! I love Isabelle’s sense of humor (and your responses). We have a boy at school whose family just gave their baby the “English name” Kiwi. It was going to be Cookie, but Kiwi won.

  5. Oh what a little monkey that Ms. Isabelle! She is funny! Big congratulations! This is so exciting! And I look forward to hearing this little guy’s actual name some months from now!

  6. Your daughter sounds amazingly bright and playful. She is really getting off on being mischievous about this naming activity. This sound-bite will be precious to have when her brother gets old enough to appreciate what a funny sister he has. All the best to you and your family…a boy…how nice for you. Congratulations!

  7. Congrats to you and hubby and Isabelle. One day she just might surprise you with that special name for her baby brother. Praying for a healthy pregnancy.

  8. Wonderful news Stacey. How lovely that you and Isabelle and Marc have moments like this to dream and plan. I am sure you are in great hands medically speaking and that your diagnosis will be carefully monitored and managed. Very happy for you and your family.

    1. Thanks, Lisa. They doctors will be keeping a close eye on me. Sometimes this condition resolves. If it doesn’t, then I’ll be scheduled for a c-section. Hence, I’m hoping it resolves on its own!

  9. Congratulations, Stacey. I am so happy for you, Marc, and Isabelle. Isabelle will be a great big sister even though she won’t be naming her brother.

  10. Congratulations, Stacey! I love Isabelle’s sense of fun and silliness. My granddaughter wanted to name her baby brother Squid! She calls him Quidsy affectionately from time to time. Wishing you a healthy and happy pregnancy.

  11. Oh, this was too precious for words! I’m so glad that you captured it — that laughter! She was going for more laughs!

    Congratulations to you and Marc! Such exciting news for you all!! I pray for a healthy pregnancy. Continue to take care of you and try to enjoy the coming months! Yeah!

  12. Such wonderful news, Stacey! And it is always so great to hear Isabelle’s laughter! I hope your pregnancy goes well and that all is resolved. And I hope you don’t have the swelling like you did with Isabelle. I’ll never forget you in the wheelchair at NCTE!

  13. First off, congratulations! Listening to your daughter’s ideas for baby names were hysterical! Her laughter and silliness are exactly what I needed to hear at the end of this busy day! Be well and thank you for sharing your special news!

  14. Congratulations! And what fun for Isabelle. Love listening to her! She’s growing!!! Today was silliness . . . and that’s great that she wants to be a big sister!

  15. Congratulations Stacey! I am very excited for you and your family. I will be keeping your and the baby’s health in my prayers.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

