slice of life

Cluttered Desk. Cluttered Mind. #sol16

I dislike when people complain about being busy. So often it sounds like a phony complaint. Therefore, I’m not going to complain about being busy right now. Right now, I feel cluttered. My desk is cluttered with papers and books. My desktop has more files open than I’d care to admit. My hours are being spent trying to prioritize between work (and all that involves) and family. As a result, my mind feels as cluttered as my desk looks.

I finished office hours with my grad students later than expected this afternoon. Once I wrapped up my work, I got a snack: cheese and crackers. I brought it back to my desk and heaped it on the clutter that has become my physical desktop. I’ve been stuffing my face while trying to work through a SOLSC-related situation that’s stressing me out. As soon as I get that under control, I’m going to try to clean up this desk. Perhaps then my mind will be less cluttered as well.

Cluttered Desk

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
20 thoughts on “Cluttered Desk. Cluttered Mind. #sol16

  1. I totally get the connection between a cluttered desk and a cluttered mind! I am perusing slices right now in hopes of inspiration. I’m getting somewhere with yours! πŸ™‚

  2. Your post made me laugh as I sit at my very cluttered desk! Thing is, I know where everything is…if I clean it up, i’ll forget where I put those files. I’d always know where the crackers are though.

  3. Oh honey (forgive me, I’m southern at heart) you have so much going on and I get it, you aren’t complaining. There is an old gospel song I love titled, I won’t complain. Here are some of the lyrics by Paul Jones:
    I’ve had some good days
    I’ve had some hills to climb
    I’ve had some weary days
    And some sleepless nights

    But when I look around
    And I think things over
    All of my good days
    Outweigh my bad days
    I won’t complain

    You’ve got this!

    1. Thanks for sharing the lyrics. I’m definitely not complaining since all the clutter comes from good things. Thankfully.
      I had my best night’s sleep in over two months last night so I think that’ll help me get more done today too.

  4. Stacey, good luck with the cluttered desktop. I tend to be a “if it’s out of sight it’s out of mind person” so I am always in a state of organized clutter. My principal, however, has a perfectly spotless desk all the time. Not a thing on it. It makes me want to just walk in and put something on top of it just to mess with him.

  5. Oh dear. Great post and I am sitting at my cluttered “desk” – that is, the kitchen table. I love working here because of the window views and my office upstairs makes me feel fenced in, probably because it, too, is cluttered. A goal for this summer-before-shore is to finally clean up the office so that I can feel free and uncluttered. You are right, Stacey. It is very freeing to straighten up and organize. Love your photograph!

  6. Clutter! The bane of my existence! But always present! I’m commenting on your paper while grading grad student final projects, and thinking about my slice, and thinking about what I need to accomplish at work today.

  7. I love how your framed this as “cluttered” instead of “busy.” The labeled image you added is fantastic! Best of luck balancing and de-cluttering!

  8. I seem to get to a point where I can’t stand the clutter anymore, then I clean up. It always comes back, though, and the cycle starts again. Hope you work out the problem – this is a wonderful community!

  9. I don’t have much clutter, just about three spaces with piles, te he! Hope the crackers & cheese keep you going, but I’m late commenting, so you may be somewhere else working by now. Have a good rest of the day!

  10. I love the idea of “cluttered” versus “busy” – I am feeling cluttered right now as well. Busy is busy, you can’t change that, but cluttered – you can take action against that. πŸ™‚ Good luck!

  11. I’m always battling clutter. I think it’s partly the fear that if things aren’t right in front of me, I’ll forget. I’ve spent all day trying to make order – it feels good, but so many decisions is exhausting!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

