Jewish · slice of life

Trading Places for Purim #sol16

A couple months ago, I was lamenting to a friend (though I can’t remember WHO I was talking to) about Isabelle not wanting to re-wear her Halloween costume for Purim since it was too cumbersome. My friend suggested that Isabelle, who many people consider to be my “Mini Me” should dress like me and I should dress like her. I thought it was a genius idea. I could wear a purple shirt, jeans, sneakers, and a bow in my hair while Isabelle could wear all black (and no bow). I suggested it to Isabelle. She went for it.

Today was our community’s Purim Carnival. Isabelle and I did, indeed, trade places. She dressed in “black-black-black” so as to impersonate me and I dressed like her, complete with a purple bow in my hair. When Isabelle saw the bow she giggled and said, “You look silly, Mommy!” I felt pretty silly. But, hey, it’s Purim. If you can’t be silly on Purim, then when can you be?

 

My husband snapped a picture of us just before departing the house.

Since you can’t see the hilarity of the purple bow in the Waterlogue of Isabelle and me, here’s a photo to help you envision how silly I looked (up-close):

FullSizeRender (5)

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
17 thoughts on “Trading Places for Purim #sol16

  1. All these great stories – love the idea of trading places for the Purim Carnival. You always come up with ways to solve any problem. Ingenious!

  2. What a lovely way to celebrate. I’m glad Isabelle embraced the idea. Just for the record I usually wear black, black, and black accented with purple so I would say the two of you have excellent taste! 🙂

    1. If I really wanted to channel Isabelle, then I would’ve worn silver shoes or silver sneakers. Sparkly-silver footwear is her other signature style (in addition to the bows). However, I was going with no-cost costumes. 😉

  3. I looked up Purim and wow, I had no idea that was considered such a major celebration. I am familiar with the story of Esther. Loved how you were able to make a memory with your daughter. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I guess I am like a lot of readers, not sure what Purim commemorated or how it is celebrated. Your slice was enlightening, but also so endearing. What a lovely way to celebrate with your daughter!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

