CONVERSATIONS · museum · picture books · slice of life

Early Morning Thoughts About Mo Willems #sol16

These are the Willems books Isabelle keeps by her bedside.
These are the Willems books Isabelle keeps by her bedside. She has a few more in other spots in our home. So, you can see why it’s going to be hard to choose just one.

“Mommy!” Isabelle called from the hallway at 6:45 a.m.

I couldn’t imagine what she wanted or needed before 7:00 a.m. (That’s when her OK to Wake Alarm Clock turns green, signaling it is okay to come into our room.)

“What’s up?” I asked when I came face-to-face with a wild-haired curly girl wearing pink bear pajamas.

“Well, can I bring my Trixie book to Mo Willams?”

Last night, right before bedtime, I informed Isabelle my parents would be taking her to see Mo Willems at the New York Historical Society this summer. I informed her she could select one book to have him sign. Apparently, this had been on her mind all night since she couldn’t decide which one to pick when I told her last night.

“Sure you can,” I said.

“So he writes the Trixie books?” she asked.

“Yeah, he writes all of the Knuffle Bunny books. And he writes the Elephant and Piggy books and the –”

Isabelle finished my sentence. “And the Pigeon books too!”

“That’s right. He writes three different series of books you know, plus a few others.”

“That’s a lot of books!” Isabelle chuckled.

“It sure is!” I responded.

“Oh,” she laughed as her curls bounced. “He might be busy that day!”

I laughed, delighted by her insight and thankful she might have an understanding of why there’s going to be a huge line she will have to wait in to get her book — whichever one she decides to bring — signed.
21 thoughts on “Early Morning Thoughts About Mo Willems #sol16

  1. How fun! It will definitely be hard for her to pick just one of his books…there are SO many great ones!

  2. Our first graders did an author study about Mo Willems last year, this year’s group started it last week. He is their ABSOLUTE favorite! I read somewhere this week that he is done with the Gerald and Piggie series- #25 will come out sometime later this year, and that will be it. If I got to see him talk, I’d take THERE IS A BIRD ON MY HEAD!

  3. How exciting that Isabelle gets to meet Mo Willems. Deciding which book to take with her forgives waking parents up before 7:00 a.m.
    I wouldn’t know which book to take with me. Maybe “We Are in a Book” from Gerald and Piggie series.

  4. Great comment by Isabelle! I would like to meet Mo Willems, too. I am particularly fond of the Pigeon books, so I would take one of them with me! She may have a difficult decision to make – which one to take? Maybe there will be photos to share of this encounter later this summer!

  5. Love that she knows and understands so much about books already! I would definitely have to take an Elephant and Piggy book, but it would be hard to choose just one.

  6. I love how you have a little book fan who gets to meet a beloved author so young! Wonderful. I think she will be so delighted with the entire experience – the planning is part of it!

  7. Between the two households, the girls’ and mine, I think we own them all. What fun for Isabelle to get to see him and get a book signed. A good ‘early morning’ problem to have.

  8. Mo is our favorite too!!!! We are actually using Knuffle Bunny right now to help with our personal narratives. 🙂 I don’t know if I could choose just one, but I love That is Not a Good Idea! It’s so funny!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

