slice of life

100 Miles for a Haircut – #sol16

It’s hard to find a good hairstylist, especially when you have curly hair. Therefore, I’ve taken to driving nearly 100 miles roundtrip every two-and-a-half months so Isabelle and I can get our “curly cuts.” Our stylist is located in Downtown Lancaster

Our stylist is located in Lancaster, just steps away from the Central Market, which is the country’s oldest, continuously operating, farmer’s market. Therefore, we can make a day out of it. And seeing as Isabelle was off from school anyway today, we did make a day of it. First, we ran errands around Downtown Lancaster. Next, we ventured into Central Market with a three-fold mission: (1) Buy rijuice. (2) Buy lunch. (3) Go to Shady Maple to pick up a doughnut before they ran out.

Isabelle started going to a grown-up salon at the tender age of three. I needed to bribe her with something in order to comply with Joy, my hair stylist. Therefore, there was the promise of a cookie if she behaved during her haircut. (She always did.) However, once Joy moved to a new salon in Downtown Lancaster, we had to find new motivation since there was no longer a cookie bakery adjacent to her salon.

Enter the Shady Maple Doughnut. Isabelle had one the first time we went Downtown for haircuts and has been requesting them as her haircut reward ever since. However, we went to Shady Maple after her December haircut and they were SOLD OUT! We went to two other Central Market stands that sold doughnuts that day and they were also sold out. Therefore, I wisened up this time… we bought the doughnut in advance of the haircut. (But I waited until after her haircut to give it to her.)

Like always, she earned it.

Top (L-R): Isabelle was delighted to find a doughnut with FOUR different colors of sprinkles; Don't you just love the look of a five-year-old sitting under a hair dryer; Getting her curls diffused by Joy. Bottom (L-R): Playing with the marble run at Bellaboo after the haircut; Eating her doughnut at Lancaster Cupcake so I could have a sweet treat too. (They have gluten-free cupcakes there!); My reward for driving nearly 100 miles today.
Top (L-R): Isabelle was delighted to find a doughnut with FOUR different colors of sprinkles; Don’t you just love the look of a five-year-old sitting under a hair dryer; Getting her curls diffused by Joy.
Bottom (L-R): Playing with the marble run at Bellaboo after the haircut; Eating her doughnut at Lancaster Cupcake so I could have a sweet treat too. (They have gluten-free cupcakes there!); My reward for driving nearly 100 miles today.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com  for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
30 thoughts on “100 Miles for a Haircut – #sol16

  1. Oh man. I need to do this for Gigi as well. How are those dry cuts? Amazing? I’ve been thinking of getting one, but now my hair seems to be less curly after this baby. It can’t make up its mind.

    1. Amazing! I resisted doing a dry cut for YEARS. (I had gone to Ouidad when I lived in NYC, but I never loved how my hair came out. Now I go to a DevaCurl certified stylist and my curls have never looked better.)
      Also, the benefit of taking Isabelle is that she has embraced her curls. She loves them because she feels confident walking out of the salon. That’s what we want for our daughters, right? To love what they’ve been given.
      So, in other words, do it, Katie!

      1. You’ve convinced me! No cheap haircuts for this kid. : ) I’m in need of something as well. As you know, post partum hair is the pitts. Perhaps that should be my next slice…but I think it’s too depressing.

  2. OH my heavens, those curls!! My own mother used to travel a hundred miles just for a can of hairspray! The things we do. . . . Now, those donuts. What I would give for a donut place like that nearby. What memories you are creating for you and your daughter, Stacey. 🙂

  3. I remember hating my curls! I didn’t want to go to school just because I didn’t want to have my hair combed. After having children, Katie, my hair tamed too. But Stacey, Isabelle’s curls are beautiful, and she seems so grown up. Love the cupcakes and her expression.

  4. What a great tradition… I was really moved by what you wrote in your comment to Katie however: That’s what we want for our daughters, right? To love what they’ve been given. Those words –say it all! In your writing it comes through again and again that you model this for Isabelle in all you do. I love reading your posts about Isabelle!!
    Clare

  5. I always enjoy visits to Lancaster (my daughter lives there now). It is a great town to explore. You do so many great things with Isabelle – she is one lucky lady!

  6. Oh, now I can’t wait to meet you in Lancaster. I love that market, but I have never had a doughnut from Shady Maple. Love the fact that you both go to the same salon for your haircut. Those curls on Isabelle and you are fabulously fabulous! Two beautiful gals – inside and out!

  7. OMW….I can totally relate! Dry cuts are the only way for curly hair. Thankfully my cousin is Deva certified and it’s only a 30 minute drive!

  8. Love the title of this piece, as well as the beautiful photos of your daughter. Her milky skin and dark, thick curly hair are just gorgeous. I would also travel 100 miles for a great haircut. Bad hair is the worst!

  9. You have made going to an hairdresser an event. The necessary and delicious in one. You two have wonderful girl time together.

  10. I love this post, but I NEED to know about those cuts! I’ve never heard of them before. What is a dry cut? What is Deva certified? I need details!!! How have I had curly hair all my life and never known about this?!?!?

  11. How dare you bring up doughnuts! Before moving to Hong Kong I was never really a huge doughnut consumer but Hong Kong doesn’t really do doughnuts. Since there are none to be had, they are all I want! The one your daughter has is making my mouth water. Also your daughter has gorgeous curls and it is great you are finding ways to love everything about herself at a young age.

  12. I’m still marveling over the fact that this is the second post in a week which includes Shady Maple. With Slicers all over the world, who knew there’d be so many of us so close to Shady Maple – my very favorite restaurant in all the world! And I do think it’s time you stop limiting your poor daughter to just a donut – time to reward the haircut with the whole buffet! 🙂

    Oh yeah, this was about hair. I get that, too, but for the opposite reason. I have extremely thin hair. It took me years to find someone who wasn’t going to try all kinds of heroics to get volume out of nothing. Once I found her, I’ve followed her to 4 different salons (so far).

  13. We still drive 2-1/2 hours to our orthodontist, dentist, and dermatologist. When you find someone good, you have to stick with them. I make the excuse that I can visit a WaWa and a Primo’s Hoagie, and my Mom, of course.

  14. Too funny–I was just flipping through my notebook to find a script I wanted to use with my son today and came across a doughnut recipe I meant to bake–and then looked up to read your slice and find more doughnuts! Clearly it’s meant to be. I am envious of those curls. Aren’t all straight-haired people?! I drive 120 miles round-trip for color and cuts. It’s worth it! And I agree: such a special memory you’re creating with your daughter.

  15. Curly hair! I always love seeing people with curls. They look fabulous. My hair is straight and needs a lot of volume if going to parties. Now, my new easy hair fix is to put it in a bun which I enjoy for a couple of months now. The case is always wanting what is not!

  16. Yup, I’d drive 100 miles to see my stylist too if she moved. So much fun to read your slice after I wrote mine on hair as well! Do you reward yourself with a doughnut too? I hope so.

  17. Anyone who has curly hair can totally relate to this Slice! I’m a Ouidad girl, myself, and I have already warned my husband that if our daughter has curly hair we’ll need to invest in the right haircuts and products early and often!

  18. I love how you and Isabelle have so many tender, sweet shared moments together. These are the things she’ll remember forever. Oh and you are making me so jealous with that donut picture…donuts aren’t a thing in Albania, so I definitely miss out on these sweet treats. I always get my fill when I go to Texas though. Maybe that’s why I always end up gaining 5-7 pounds each trip! Definitely worth it though!

  19. I love this! I love the sense of confidence and self-acceptance you’re modeling for Isabelle by making a special trip to get the right cut for your hair (and you both have such fab hair!). It sounds almost a small or frivolous thing, but it so isn’t, especially for curly-haired girls.

    Also, my blog reading is so lax when it’s not March, that I haven’t seen Isabelle since last year. She’s so grown! I love this annual check-in with you, Stacey. I will always credit you, Ruth, and the year-one slicers as the key shapers of who I’ve become as a blogger. Glad you’re still here, inspiring me and so many others!
    –Stacie

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

