slice of life

Counter Seats – #sol16

I reorganized my day, well in advance of the SOLSC beginning, so I could spend the morning at home. I like to be near the computer in case there are any SOLSC-related issues on day one. However, I needed to see my physician and the only opening she had prior to March 10th was this morning. At 8:40 a.m., which is prime time for me needing to be my computer on March 1st. (Thankfully, Anna, Kathleen, and Tara helped me moderate comments!)

Isabelle was cool with the change to our Tuesday morning routine when I informed her she could watch “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood” on the iPad. She made it through my appointment like a champ. In fact, she willingly handed over the iPad after she got to the end of the second episode (which I told her was her limit for today).

“What are we going to do now?” she asked.

“I’m kind of hungry,” I said.

“You already ate breakfast, Mommy,” she replied.

“I know, but I didn’t eat much this morning. How about we go to the Hershey Pantry?”

“No, I don’t want to.”

“What do you want to do?”

“I want,” she paused. I don’t think she really knew what she wanted to do. “I want to go to the Hershey Story.”

I looked at my watch. It was early. Preschool wouldn’t start for two and a half hours. It would be possible to do both.

And so we did.

Playing with the Etch-a-Sketch at the counter. (For those of you who are Little Teddy fans, that's her perched on the counter in front of Isabelle.)
Playing with the Etch-a-Sketch at the counter. (For those of you who are Little Teddy fans, that’s her perched on the counter in front of Isabelle.)

We arrived at the Hershey Pantry only to learn there was a 10-15 minute wait for a table. However, they offered us the option to sit at the counter, which is something I wouldn’t have considered if I hadn’t promised my kid I’d take her to a museum after my second breakfast!. Even though I was worried she’d fall off of the high chair, I figured it was worth the try.

“Sure, we’ll sit at the counter,” I told the hostess.

Next I looked at Isabelle, “And you, mademoiselle, need to sit in your tushe. No knees.”

The hostess placed an Etch-a-Sketch in front of Isabelle’s counter seat. It immediately captivated her! Even though I spent hours playing with an Etch-a-Sketch as a kid, I never thought to get one for her. They seem so old school to me. BUT, Isabelle loved it. She liked moving the knobs back and forth to create shapes. Isabelle especially loved clearing the screen, which she did dramatically by swaying the Etch-a-Sketch back and forth over her head. (I kept worrying it was going to fly out of her hands and hit somebody. Thankfully, it didn’t.)

Isabelle drank chocolate milk, played with the Etch-a-Sketch, and eventually colored with crayons while I ate some eggs and hash browns.

“Mommy?” Isabelle asked as I paid the check. “Do we have time to go to the Hershey Story?”

I looked at my watch. It was 10:20 a.m. Plenty of time to do a quick trip to the Hershey Story before heading to school.

“We sure do!”

And with that, I helped Isabelle down from her counter-seat chair (which she didn’t fall off of the entire time!) and walked hand-in-hand with her to the parking lot. We drove to the Hershey Story and walked hand-in-hand, again, to the museum. On our way, I glanced down at her and said, “I know our morning didn’t go as planned, but it’s been fun spending time with you.”

“I like spending time with you, Mommy.”

{Heart melts.}

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com  for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
27 thoughts on “Counter Seats – #sol16

  1. I loved this slice of your life with Isabelle. Thinking about purchasing an Etch-a-Sketch for my 4 year old! Looking forward to being a part of this incredible community. Thank you!

  2. I see signs of Isabelle maturing very nicely. What a nice outing for the two of you! Happy Day One! I hope it has all gone smoothly. My students are on fire. Thanks for the badges. They are all about badges now!

  3. I like Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood! And the whole bit with the Etch-A-Sketch. Memories. . . I love the connections from other stories to those memories of days past! 🙂

  4. One of our favorite restaurants hands out Etch-a-Sketches to kids, and my trio love them. I’m always amazed what they can create with the limits of those two knobs. An exercise in creativity for sure. Great little slice!

  5. What a great stolen morning with your daughter! I could totally relate to your simultaneous delight with her appreciation for the Etch-a-Sketch (brilliant restaurant idea!) and your concern about it transforming into a missile. Great slice!

  6. If you want to make God laugh, tell HIm your plans…sometimes its when we are flexible and in the moment that the best memories are made. I know that I find this with my own two preschoolers. I liked your depiction of Isabelle’s dramatic swipe to clear the screen.

  7. Hershey Pantry is one of our favorite places to eat. Just love their desserts. I had an etch-a-sketch as a kid and loved it. A few years ago I bought one for Kathy as a Christmas present because she had never had one. Isabelle is really all grown up.

    1. She has been making incredible progress! Thank goodness for her amazing speech and language therapists who work with her at school and privately. It is such a thrill to be able to converse with my child!

  8. I like your use of quotes to detail your short conversations. I painted the picture perfectly in my head. I admire the decisions you made because as simple as they seem, they are not always for a type A, have a schedule and must stick to it mama. 🙂 I think I have broken the mold though and I can’t wait to experience similar situations. Thanks for sharing!

    1. It’s funny that you mention the dialogue. Earlier this morning I was thinking, “I use too much dialogue in my slices.” But then, after Lisa’s comment (above), I realized why. I think I do it because I’m beyond grateful my daughter and I are finally able to converse. (She was diagnosed with Childhood Apraxia of Speech three years ago and has come so far in that time.) I guess that’s why I rely on dialogue so much when I try to elaborate.

  9. Sometimes the unplanned turns out wonderful. I like how Isabelle knows that her opinion matters and is not timid in expressing her wishes.

  10. Sounds like a perfect morning to me! I love that this slice captured such a tender moment with you and your daughter. As my own will soon be off to school I savor those times and I am so glad I wrote many of them down!

  11. The picture is awesome. So neat that the “old” toys and games captivate today’s children. Never been to the Hershey Pantry. Heard it’s great. Should put it on my to do conference planning list!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

