slice of life · writing

I can write about that!

IMG_4617I was less-than-pleased when I found Isabelle fast asleep under her blanket at 5:45 last night. (She usually goes to bed at 7:30 p.m.)

Isabelle was less-than-pleased when she found I wasn’t going to be coming to her class for writing time today. (I had another commitment.)

I guess that makes us even, right?

The two of us were talking as she was getting dressed for school.

“I’m glad you woke up at one in the morning to go to the bathroom!” I said.

She smiled. I continued. “I can’t believe you had dinner in the middle of the night!”

“I know!” she said.

“But not chicken. Daddy just gave you bread and butter, right?”

“Mmm-hmmm,” she replied.

“And then you came into my room and woke me at 3:10 a.m.” My face got stern. “I’m still not happy about that. I need my sleep.”

“But I had a bad dream,” she said, smiling.

“You know you didn’t,” I replied. “Why else would your light be on and your bears would be arranged perfectly on your bed where you were sleeping?”

She grinned.

“You know, I’m really tired because of that,” I said.

“I know,” she replied, not seeming to care.

I would live.

“At least you slept until a little after six. You must’ve been tired! Are you taller this morning?”

She turned around and faced her mirror. “Yeah, I am!”

“Maybe you are,” I said.

And that’s when it happened. “Hey! I can write a story about this!”

“Last night would make a great story. You can write it today at school.”

“But who’s gonna write it with me?” she asked.

“Your teacher will write it with you,” I replied.

“But I want YOU!” she said.

“Sorry, but I can’t come to school with you today. But you know what? You write your story across pages and then I’ll have your teacher send me pictures of your book. How does that sound?”

“Good!” she replied.

* * * * *

A few hours later, three pictures arrived. The story! It wasn’t as detailed as I would’ve hoped, but it was a story (That contained people with bodies, which is an improvement from a couple of weeks ago!) she drew sequentially across pages. And the best part was, she did it without me in the classroom.

Page 1
Page 1
Page 2
Page 2
Page 3
Page 3
17 thoughts on “I can write about that!

  1. So cute! Those middle-of-the-night wake-ups can be brutal! Mine always go back to sleep so quickly, while I am left staring at the ceiling. I love Isabelle’s story. Do you ever use iPad apps for her writing? We previewed a few in a staff meeting and I was thinking about how much Claire would like them but I’m not sure I want to go there yet.

    1. We haven’t tried any of them. I’m actually frustrated with the handwriting apps on the iPad now since she doesn’t transfer over the skills she practices there to paper. I worry the same thing could happen if we start using writing apps. That said, if you find a good one, please Lmk. I can preview it on my own before using it with her.

  2. She is living the writerly life… and finding the extraordinary in the ordinary! You raised a literate human and a slicer –a funny one at that!! Thanks for sharing — I feel like I know her.
    Clare

  3. I saw that she fell asleep so early on FB. She must have had a big day, & be growing. Glad she wrote even without you! What fun to see the young ones start their writing lives.

  4. Isabelle already has a mindset of a writer. I don’t think that many kids of her age think how they can use their own life for a story. I am glad that her disappointment for your absence didn’t stop her from writing.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

