OT · slice of life · speech

Therapy Services by Mommy

“You should stay off the roads if you can.”

Those were the words of caution from the local weather and traffic people on ABC and CBS this morning.

It snowed overnight. The wee hours of this morning brought freezing rain. It’s almost 10 a.m., which means it’s warming up and just raining.

The words of caution echoed in my head as I sat at my makeup table and applied liquid foundation. Maybe today was a day to skip taking Isabelle to speech and OT. After all, we didn’t HAVE to be on the roads. Yes, we had her weekly appointments, but I could do her therapy sessions today.

By the time I applied translucent powder, I decided we’d stay home.

Ten minutes later, I informed Isabelle about my decision. “We’re not going to see Marie and Jena today because of the weather.”

“But what are we going to do?”

“I’m going to work with you at home.”

“Oh,” she replied. I don’t think she was sure about how she felt about that.

Our schedule (once we finished everything).
Our schedule (once we finished everything).

After breakfast, I let her have 20 minutes of play time while I got ready. She choose OT first, which required more prep work out of me. Thankfully, the internet was ready for me. I know she’s been having trouble with the letters U, V, and W, so I printed out a bunch of letter pages, plus some worksheets to help her practice diagonal lines. Then, I created a schedule. Once the timer went off, I went into her play room, armed with a plan.

We had a rough start when I reviewed the plan since she kept peering out of the window to watch the high school girls walk to the bus stop.

“Do you need me to close the blinds?” I asked.

“No,” she snapped.

“Are you sure?”

“No,” she said.

We closed them together.

Finally, once her eyes were on me, not on the street, we got to work.

1) We practiced cutting straight, zigzag, and curvy lines. Then, I had her cutting squares and circles.
1) We practiced cutting straight, zigzag, and curvy lines. Then, I had her cutting squares and circles.
2a) Lots of diagonal line practice!
2a) Lots of diagonal line practice!

 

2b) Moving on to letter practice.
2b) Moving on to letter practice.
3) Time for some weight bearing fun on the stability ball.
3) Time for some weight bearing fun on the stability ball.
4) We colored a castle in a Priddy coloring book.
4) We colored a castle in a Priddy coloring book.
5) We practiced some basic dance steps to "Blue Dress," which is the song she selected.
5) We practiced some basic dance steps to “Blue Dress,” which is the song she selected.

I have 10 more minutes left while Isabelle listens to music and plays with her train set. Then, speech begins! Thankfully, we have more than enough apps and speech cards hanging around the house so there’s not much prep work for me to do.

12 thoughts on “Therapy Services by Mommy

  1. Yesterday as I watched it snow in VA and decided also to not go outside, I reread 2015 SOL posts looking for writing ideas as I prep for the 2016 March challenge. I found a skype session you did with a 4th grade class and watched it. I held onto you saying that an SOL is a chance to write about the ordinary moments in our life. So I did that today and reading your post, you did that too!! I loved reading step by step how your stay-at-home day went. SO much was revealed by all the actions of both you and your daughter. Thanks for sharing this moment and for the skype session! I am feeling ready for March!!

  2. We’re at home today, too! It’s a slushy mess outside; but it looks like Isabelle is enjoying learning at home. Later, I may get a chance to read over my son’s research paper. Being Teacher/Mom can be fun on a snowy day!

  3. Fun to get a quick look at your OT time. I remember working with my daughter on letters and numbers – lots of reversals – some days we rolled cookie dough and cut our letters with a little butter knife. Those days were hard work but also fun to spend the one on one with our kids!

  4. Good to stay in, if you can, and fun to see what Isabelle does with her sessions. What a hard worker she is! We still have incredibly warm weather, except for the one big snow. Very strange, & we keep worrying that we’ll get payback in March. Keep cozy!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

