slice of life

Snowfie

My friend Michelle Haseltine has been encouraging her Instagram followers, many of whom are her students, to take “snowfies.” A snowfie is a selfie that shows what you’ve been reading or writing during these snow days.

Today is my daughter’s second snow day off from school. Thankfully, I’ve been able to work on the copyediting of my manuscript this afternoon while she’s been sledding at our neighbor’s house. Therefore, I paused and took a snowfie while going through the copyedits of my forthcoming book, Craft Moves: Lesson Sets for Teaching Writing with Mentor Texts. (I AM ALMOST FINISHED, which is awesome since the my changes to the copyedited manuscript are due back to Stenhouse on February 5th.)

Finishing up my #CraftMoves manuscript. (This is a Writer's version of a #snowfie!)

A post shared by Stacey Shubitz (@sshubitz) on

After I posted this on Instagram, I realized my computer screen looks blank. Trust me, it’s not! The lighting is off!

I hate to say it, but that’s all I’ve got for today. As much as I’d love to write a real slice of life story, I have to get back to editing my manuscript.

Head over to Two Writing Teachers for more Slice of Life Stories.
Head over to Two Writing Teachers for more Slice of Life Stories.
13 thoughts on “Snowfie

  1. What you wrote fits perfectly with SOL, in my opinion I opinion. After all, it is what you are doing. I know you will have your editing done in plenty of time.

  2. What a fun idea! I’m glad you posted about it, because I hadn’t seen Michelle’s idea. (And I feel better when you say that even you have trouble slicing sometimes!)

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

