slice of life

The Meaning of Hersheypark Happy

I thought I knew what Hersheypark Happy meant. I thought it was:

  • holding hands atop the Ferris wheel or the Kissing Tower.
  • witnessing the joy of becoming watching my child become a Reese’s..
  • eating ice cream any time of day.

And it kinda was all of those things, but today I discovered what a Hersheypark Happy truly looks like.

I found Isabelle sporting a Hersheypark Happy smile while the three of us spent way too much time under the sun’s hot rays in the wave pool at The Shore. Isabelle took turns holding my hands and Marc’s as we jumped the waves for well over an hour. Her face glowed beneath the sun’s rays. She giggled incessantly. Her pearly whites gleamed. She didn’t complain about the water being too cold or the pool being too crowded. Instead she grinned from ear to ear (trite, but true) as she bobbed up and down with us. At one point, when it was my turn to hold her, I asked her if she was having a good time. 

“Yes!” She squealed. “I like being a kid! Did you like being a kid?”

“I did,” I replied.

I continued with an answer, but my response doesn’t matter. Watching her, seeing her have a good time, and then hearing her say she likes being a kid.  Priceless.

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com  for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
14 thoughts on “The Meaning of Hersheypark Happy

  1. My cousins, years ago, went to Hersey Park on a family trip. They still remember! You’re so right, that line “I like being a kid.” is priceless. But you didn’t answer the ?, Stacey. Do YOU like being a kid, too? Have a great week!

    1. I answered her question (The answer was yes!), but didn’t include it here since it turned into a pretty long discussion. To recap, I told her I did like being a kid. She asked why. I told her I had good friends, I liked school, and my parents were good to me. She asked me to tell her about my friends and wanted to know more about my teachers. I told her about my Kindergarten and 1st grade teachers who were wonderful. I left out my awful 2nd grade teacher from the discussion. (She was as mean as they came!)

  2. This summer Kathy and I went to Hershey Park for the first time in 30 years (quite a long time) to meet up with her cousin and her family. As soon as we entered the park the feeling of being a kid again, looking at the rides, standing in line,,,all came back. I can just imagine Isabelle’s infectious smile while enjoying the water. It is fun to be a kid…at any age.

  3. I read this early this morning and Isabelle’s words about liking to be a kid and asking you if you liked being a kid have stuck with me all day. Loved this post Stacey. What a precious moment captured in your slice.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

