slice of life · writing

A Slice of Writing Paradise

I’ve driven a few hours north of my home to write (read: hopefully finish my book) at my home away from home this week.

I'm in the Lodge, rather than a cabin, this time.
I’m in the Lodge, rather than a cabin, this time.

I’m here with two fellow Slicers: Michelle Haseltine (who is also doing an Unworkshop with me) and Lee Ann Spillane (who won TWT’s #SOL15 Commenting Challenge and happens to be here this week)! Margaret Simon was supposed to be Unworkshopping with Michelle and me, but she had a family emergency she had to attend to. (We miss you, Margaret!)

Lee Ann created a poem on a boulder (earlier today) in the Highlights Foundation's Poetry Garden. The three of us selected word rocks for our photo together. Michelle choose "grow," I choose "strong" and Lee Ann choose "be."
Lee Ann created a poem on a boulder (earlier today) in the Highlights Foundation’s Poetry Garden. The three of us selected word rocks for our photo together. Michelle choose “grow,” I choose “strong” and Lee Ann choose “be.”

It’s 8:30 p.m. on night one of my Unworkshop.  I haven’t done a lick of work yet since it took me longer than usual to get here today.  My goal is to finish my book and send it to my editor by Friday.  (It’s due to him on July 15th.)  And that should be possible since I’m in the editing and polishing stages.  Plus, it’s super quiet here!

I created an interactive image on ThingLink. Go to https://www.thinglink.com/scene/669697022332239874 to find out what’s on my desk.

Isabelle sent me off with one of her stuffed animals (again) so I have another little project to work on this week. Somehow Hop-Hop will have to have some kind of adventure this week. Not sure what that will be yet.  Right now, I have to focus on getting my writing done!

There are two beds in my room. I have one. Hop-Hop has the other.
There are two beds in my room. I have one. Hop-Hop has the other.

With that, it’s off to work I go.  I hope I emerge on Friday having birthed a book.  We’ll see…

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com  for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.

 

20 thoughts on “A Slice of Writing Paradise

  1. I was thinking about you today as we all gathered in Riverside church this morning. Hope your week is productive and quiet. Enjoy your time with good company too!

  2. What an exciting stage of labor! Enjoy the process and the reward at the end of it all. I love that you have your daughter’s stuffed animal along for the ride–memories of another labor and the beautiful reward at its end. Can’t wait to read your book!

  3. Sounds like you are in the ‘pushing stage.’ Keep going you are almost there and then you will have beautiful baby, I mean book. You will be so in love with it you won’t believe how gorgeous and amazing it is and you will want to do it again, probably not straight away though. Have an amazing time. Looks like you have some great mates to keep you company 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

