slice of life · writing

You’ll have to excuse me.

Happening Right Now: Revising Chapter Three
Happening Right Now: Revising Chapter Three

You’ll have to excuse me if I don’t have time to write a real slice of life story today.  I’m in the midst of revisions for my forthcoming teacher-education book.  It’s 95% written (YEA!), but needs lots of revisions!  That’s what this week and next are for — revision and editing.  (I’ll treat myself to writing the acknowledgments — so I can be 100% finished writing this book — as soon as I revise two more chapters.)

Right now, school is out. My mother has come into town to save my tuchus this week. Isabelle is spending the morning with my mom so I have a quiet house in which to work.  However, it isn’t all-revision all-of-the-time.  There are so many other things to do, which I don’t have the time to write about right now. At least not this week.  Such is life.

So you’ll excuse me for not writing a true slice of life this week.  As I sit here, still wearing my pajamas at 11:48 a.m. (because that’s what writers can do when they work from home!), this is all I can muster up.

Okay, then.  Back to work!

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com  for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
25 thoughts on “You’ll have to excuse me.

  1. The chaos of life and deadlines and limitations and family and all we leave behind to do what we prioritize in each moment rings true to my idea of a “real slice,” which is something I’ve been thinking about today anyway.

    Happy revising and much success to you as you complete the project.

    1. I managed to get myself dressed at 5 p.m. since I had a meeting to attend tonight. My mom was shocked when she saw my transformation from bedraggled writer to human being!

  2. Love the view of your revisions. For a second I thought I was looking at a “big screen” view of your manuscript . . . wowza! My writing often still remains hidden! Can’t wait for your new book – it will definitely fill a need!

    Write on!

    PS – We would never have known about your pajamas if you hadn’t inserted that tiny detail! LOL

  3. I think it was the perfect slice for today, Stacey! You captured a moment in time and let us in on your process. Good luck! Looking forward to reading your book.

  4. Hooray for your new book (you are nearly there!!) and cheers for your mom. I’m sure she doesn’t mind one-on-one time with her granddaughter!

  5. You did write a slice – it might be as polished as you wished or truly down to a small moment of time but what you captured is messy and not ideal but a celebration because your book is really getting closer to being done for your due date. It’s good to share realities we all face – ideal or not, it’s helpful to others. Keep plugging away this week!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

