art · picture books · slice of life

Everyone Can Fly + a Book Giveaway

"Flying Isabelle"
“Flying Isabelle”

Isabelle had my favorite kind of play date yesterday afternoon since it involved a museum and a craft project! We met up with Joanna and her son at the Susquehanna Art Museum. The museum re-opened in Midtown Harrisburg a few months ago in what used to be a bank. First, we attended story time in “The Vault.”  The museum educator read Tar Beach by Faith Ringgold to the kids. Next, we went into the art studio for a craft project. All of the children received a cut-out flying body, like Cassie Louise Lightfoot, to decorate. Isabelle needed some assistance designing “Flying Isabelle,” which turned out pretty well.

My favorite part of the day was heading upstairs to the “Everyone Can Fly” Exhibit, which features the picture book art of Amy Bates, Jonathan Bean, Lauren Castillo, Megan Lloyd-Thompson, Faith Ringgold, and Shadra Strickland.  The exhibit wasn’t just a bunch of canvases in frames — though that would’ve been enough for me.  It had interactive components, which delighted my daughter and all of the other young visitors.  Here’s a look:

Isabelle and Jesse enjoyed playing on a three-dimensional Tar Beach rooftop. (The construction hats were part of a different section, which had lots of dress-up items.)
Isabelle and Jesse enjoyed playing on a three-dimensional Tar Beach rooftop. (The construction hats were part of a different section, which had lots of dress-up items.)
Running back and forth on the drawbridge was great fun for Isabelle.  (This kept her busy while I spent time with the art.)
Running back and forth on the drawbridge was great fun for Isabelle. (This kept her busy while I spent time with the art.)
We studied the center painting from Amy Hest and Lauren Castillo's The Reader.  The museum had book version of The Reader there so I was able to show Isabelle how the book's designer added Hest's words to Castillo's painting.
We studied the center painting from Amy Hest and Lauren Castillo’s The Reader. The museum had book version of The Reader there so I was able to show Isabelle how the book’s designer added Hest’s words to Castillo’s painting.
Jonathan Bean is the most local of all of the regional illustrators whose work was featured in this exhibit. Therefore, it was fitting to have a large table set up for kids to recreate some of his illustrations from his 2013 book, Building Our House.
Jonathan Bean is the most local of all of the regional illustrators whose work was featured in this exhibit. Therefore, it was fitting to have a large table set up for kids to recreate some of his illustrations from his 2013 book, Building Our House.

If you don’t live in Central Pennsylvania, but find yourself driving on I-81 or on the Pennsylvania Turnpike in the next couple of months, visit the Susquehanna Art Museum. “Everyone Can Fly” is an exhibit picture book lovers of all ages will enjoy!

Leave a comment on this post for a chance to win a copy of Beach House by Deanna Caswell and Amy June Bates, which will be on-sale in May.
F Leave a comment on this post for a chance to win a copy of Beach House by Deanna Caswell and Amy June Bates, which will be on-sale in May.

Finally, I was reading the review copy of Beach House to Isabelle at bedtime.  I always read the author and illustrators’ names and when I read Bates’ name I made the connection.  Amy June Bates was one-and-the-same as Amy Bates whose work we had seen at the museum earlier in the day!  I pointed that out to Isabelle who said she’d like to go back to look at Bates’ paintings again.  Another visit to an art museum?  Sure thing, kiddo!

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION

  • This giveaway is for a copy of Beach House Many thanks to Chronicle Books for donating a copy for one reader.
  • For a chance to win this copy of Beach House, please leave a comment about this post by Monday, April 5th at 11:59 p.m. EDT. I’ll use a random number generator to pick the winners, whose names I will announce at the bottom of this post, by Tuesday, April 6th.
    • Note: This giveaway is open to anyone with a USA or Canada mailing address.
  • Please be sure to leave a valid e-mail address when you post your comment, so I can contact you to obtain your mailing address if you win.  From there, my contact at Chronicle will ship your book out to you.  (NOTE: Your e-mail address will not be published online if you leave it in the e-mail field only.)
  • If you are the winner of the book, I will e-mail you with the subject line of RAISING A LITERATE HUMAN – Beach House. Please respond to my e-mail with your mailing address within five days of receipt. Unfortunately, a new winner will be chosen if a response isn’t received within five days of the giveaway announcement.

Comments are now closed.  ReadWriteThruLife’s commenter number was drawn so she’ll receive a copy of Beach House.  Here’s what she wrote:

Um Wow! What an awesome exhibit and opportunity for dramatic play centered around a book. I teach Young Fives and this exhibit makes me green with envy!!! Also, I attended the Michigan Reading Association Annual Conference this weekend and sat in on an hour and a half session with Donalyn Miller yesterday. She “whispered” about over 100 books. Beach House is on my “gotta have” list. While I would love to win it, I will definitely be buying it! Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience!

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com  for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
32 thoughts on “Everyone Can Fly + a Book Giveaway

  1. Our art teacher has done a project with Tar Beach before so I was immediately drawn in. We were just in Florida and as we drove by Harrisburg, I actually reminded myself that you lived there, think I was on my phone reading posts at that time. I used to have a penpal friend from there, someone we met while camping at the original Hershey Park in the early 1960s when it was so different from now. We enjoyed Hershey a lot. What a great thing to have a museum in an old bank and to have such clever curators to make it enjoyable and memorable for kids. Terrific that she is so interested she would ask to return.
    I have been working on poems about being at the beach (Montauk) when I was a kid, so Beach House would have a happy home with me. And then I would pass it on to another teacher. Thank you!

  2. I love the interactiveness of the museum! Now that’s the way to get kids engaged with the art of the books. It will be interesting to see Isabelle’s interest in the art if you go back since you had the book Beach House.

  3. Um Wow! What an awesome exhibit and opportunity for dramatic play centered around a book. I teach Young Fives and this exhibit makes me green with envy!!! Also, I attended the Michigan Reading Association Annual Conference this weekend and sat in on an hour and a half session with Donalyn Miller yesterday. She “whispered” about over 100 books. Beach House is on my “gotta have” list. While I would love to win it, I will definitely be buying it! Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience!

  4. Your description of the exhibit makes me want to find a way to take my little Sophie girl to the museum. Maybe on the way home from Cape Cod? I love the pictures and the kids in the hats!

  5. Okay- I want to go there! Too bad I am so far away. A picture book museum exhibit? Simply perfection. That 3d interactive display? Perfection again. It was just meant to be for you to have that book.

  6. The best trip is one where both child and parent are learning! The pictures look wonderful! (Love the video you left on my blog! Brings back memories–bu bye…)

  7. Wow – that museum looks awesome! I recognized the Tar Beach rooftop right away! Also, The Reader is one of my favorite books to share at home and at school. Beach House was one of the books you recommended last week and I don’t think my library had it yet … hopefully soon we’ll get to read it!

  8. My daughter is the programming director at our Museum of Contemporary Art & is also a museum educator. She will love hearing & seeing about this exhibit Stacey. Tar Beach of course is awesome, but I also loved Building Our House-sweet story! Thanks for the possibility of a giveaway, & thanks for the month of good times!

  9. Thank you for sharing this slice with photos…I love the use of photos in slices and I am going to try that more next year! Thank you for all of your inspiration over the last month!!

  10. I have a play date with my granddaughter on Wednesday afternoon-unfortunately we have no cool museums like this to go to around here!

  11. First – amazing that you got to everyone at least twice. My goal was 20 comments a day – at least. Most days I did that; however, I read many more blogs than I could possibly comment. Second, congratulations on doing other things this month besides the SOL! You are one busy, busy lady!

  12. I need to move to a bigger city! This sounds amazing. What a great trip for a class, or a toddler.

  13. Picture book scenes come to life–how fun! I never truly appreciated the artwork in a picture book until I got my library degree, and we spent quite some time discussing how the art enhances the story in more ways than simple illustrations. Thanks for sharing your day at the museum!

  14. That museum sounds like a fantastic place. What a great way to introduce the little ones to authors and illustrators. I love that it’s interactive, too. if I am ever in that area, this will be one of my stops.

  15. Stacey, I’d comment on this even if there weren’t a book giveaway!
    Thanks for your part of this writing challenge that has meant so much to me.
    And thanks for your commenting dedication. My own reaction to receiving comments has made me realize that -now- I need to be a writer more out in the open, and less in a journal stuck away on a shelf.
    Thanks for all your work and encouragement.

  16. I like the idea of the museum being housed in a former bank. (our local library is housed in one.) It is neat that there are so many interactive displays that bring the art to life.

  17. What a great museum! I love the reading in the vault. I hope to head out that way and would love to see this exhibit. Thanks for sharing and sharing how the kids enjoyed the day as well.

  18. Now you have me wondering if I can get to this exhibit…I have never been out that way…Love the book Tar Beach and seeing photos of your daughter in the interactive exhibit is precious! Thanks for hosting this writing challenge – I have loved it!! See you Tuesdays!!

Comments are closed.