food · slice of life

Gluten-Free Baked Macaroni & Cheese from Scratch

“Guess what I’m making for dinner tonight?”

“What?” Isabelle inquired.

“I’m making baked macaroni and cheese from scratch.”

“No! I don’t want from scratch!”

IS SHE KIDDING ME?  She said she was fine with this being our dinner together tonight seeing as Marc wouldn’t be home for dinner.  And now she doesn’t want it?  OH MY G-D!

“Yes, I’m making it from scratch.  For you.  Like you asked for it.”

“But I don’t wanna be scratched!”

I chuckled.  “You’re not going to be scratched, Isabelle.  Making something from scratch means I’m cooking the entire dish myself.  Nothing comes out of a box.  You love this kind of macaroni and cheese.  Trust me, you’ll be happy.”

For the sake of being able to explain what "from scratch" means to Isabelle NEXT TIME, I took some process photos of tonight's dish.
For the sake of being able to explain what “from scratch” means to Isabelle NEXT TIME, I took some process photos of tonight’s dish.

 

And she was. She gobbled up way more than I expected considering this is the first time I ever made it gluten-free.

Want to make this dish? Follow all of Deb Perelman’s “Easiest Baked Mac and Cheese” directions over at her amazing SMITTEN KITCHEN Blog.  BUT, use these ingredients:

2 tablespoons butter
1 cup low fat cottage cheese
2 cups milk (1 cup of skim and 1 cup of whole milk OR 2 cups of lowfat milk)
1 teaspoon dry mustard
Pinch cayenne
Pinch grated nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 pound grated, extra-sharp cheddar
1/2 pound gluten-free elbow pasta (Buy corn elbows, NOT rice elbows.)

 

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com  for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com for more slices of life.
16 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Baked Macaroni & Cheese from Scratch

  1. This makes me think of Amelia Bedelia. I am glad that you were able to prepare a nice meal for your family and expand Isabelle’s vocabulary in the process!

  2. I don’t want to be scratched! That’s classic! Love that she loved it. They make us nuts when they do this, don’t they??? You lay it down here with more patience than I have… And she liked it, but did you? GF to GF, corn over rice noodles so they don’t expand to glop? 🙂

  3. What a cute story! I love how sweet and innocent kids’ misconceptions can be (and often wonder about all the ones they don’t wonder about aloud). Thanks for also weaving the recipe into your story!

  4. Your title got me. I read a line from David Levithan that said that the title of a piece is it’s North Star. I love that. Your title grabbed and the slice did not disappoint. So glad she liked it!

  5. Just like Paddington doesn’t want someone who is practicing medicine. Thanks for the smile, Stacey. A great way to build new vocabulary for Isabelle.

  6. That is hilarious! I can just picture Isabelle’s face when she said she didn’t want to be scratched! Ha ha. Well, now she just increased her vocabulary!

    Your mac and cheese looks delicious!

  7. Our language is so filled with these words, it’s a wonder anyone can learn the various meanings and apply it to the right situation. Funny story that will live on in Isabelle’s story of her life.

  8. Ha! I love it! You just never know what kids are going to say next! Oh, and the mac and cheese looks like something I need to make from “scratch” very soon! Yum!

  9. Your mac and cheese looks so yummy! I have often thought that “from scratch” does not sound like an appetizing phrase for food that is usually very appetizing. How funny that Isabelle commented on that!

  10. What a sweet story. Who doesn’t love macaroni and cheese from scratch? I use my mother’s recipe and just substitute gluten-free flour in the sauce base. Hmm, maybe I’ll have to make some on Sunday.

    1. I’ve noticed you’ve been pinning a lot of ‘clean eating’ recipes. Perhaps our next get-together with the girls needs to be a dinner at our place with GF/Paleo foods. (And maybe something with a little sugar in it for Molly and Isabelle.!)

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

