OBSERVATIONS · picture books · slice of life

A Trusted Pair



I remember the days when I could introduce multiple new books to Isabelle in a given day.  Now, not so much.  Not only does she have her favorites, but she judges books by their covers.  It’s frustrating, but I just take deep breaths and remember she is only four.  

Isabelle walked into my office as I was cleaning up my desk.

“What’s dis book?” she asked holding Muncha! Muncha! Muncha! in her hand.

“Oh, that’s a great little book!  I’ve been using that to help me inspire my writing.  It’s called Muncha! Muncha! Muncha! Would you like me to read it to you?”

She examined the cover. 

“No,” she said tossing it back onto my desk.

I had a lightbulb moment.  I decided it was time to push.  

“Do you know who the author and illustrator are of Muncha! Muncha! Muncha!?”

“Who?” she asked.  

“It’s written by Candace Fleming and illustrated by G. Brian Karas.  It’s the same author and illustrator as Clever Jack Takes the Cake.”  I paused.  Then I tried to close the deal.  “You love Clever Jack, don’t you?”

“Yeah!”

“Would you like me to read this book to you?  Maybe you’ll like it since it’s the same author and illustrator of a book you love.”

“Okay. Read it to me, Mommy.”

And so I did.  And oh did she laugh every time she heard the sounds the bunnies made in the garden.  I think she’s sold.  AND, I was reminded of the fact that I may have to use some of the old “book-selling strategies” I used to use with my students with my own child.  (At least it still works!)

12 thoughts on “A Trusted Pair

  1. What a clever girl! I do this at the library too. I have to talk my child in getting certain books, or I get them and then have to persuade her to read them at home. She has her favourites too!

  2. Classic! It happens to me, too. I will reject a book because of the cover, but a good review can send me back to it. I am not so far removed from your 4 year old!

  3. I am sure you have many selling strategies up your sleeve. I have a feeling that even when Isabelle had said no to you this time, she would have read the book together with you eventually.

  4. Love this little slice of reading. The same is true at my house … four year olds pushing the independence and decision making. AND they judge me on the books that I select? Humph … look at what they — oh, I almost forgot about Dana’s pledge to not book-shame. 🙂 I’m glad that she decided to read along with you and that she enjoyed the book!

  5. I love Clever Jack Takes the Cake too! And now I’m off to request this one. Your slices take me back to those days of constant push and pull with children. It’s hard on everyone, but part of the growing up process.

  6. I love that you are able to document all of these posts for Isabelle to read as she gets older. A virtual reader’s notebook for her and her future offspring to enjoy and relish for the years to come. I love that she is a STRONG woman and says, “NO!” But most of all, I love that you are truly raising a thinker and a literate human being that will contribute in a positive way to our world.

  7. Superior wisdom that living brings shines through in this piece Stacey. You ‘nudged’ gently and in doing so took the conversation and the experience to the desired level. Reading revelations….

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

