schedules · slice of life

A “Guest” on My Side of the Bed

FullSizeRenderBy the time the chimes on my iPhone went off a third time, I knew I had to get out of bed. I was still tired even if I hadn’t been the one to get up with Isabelle in the middle of the night.

I made the bed in the guest room, slipped on my Birkenstocks, and plodded down the hallway.  The light in Isabelle’s room was on, but she wasn’t in it.  Hmmmm…  I didn’t hear the television downstairs, which meant Marc hadn’t gotten ready for work yet.  Our bedroom door was closed.  Something was not right.

I opened the door to our bedroom and found Isabelle sleeping horizontally on my side of the bed with her blankie, her baby, and Teddy.  But Marc wasn’t there.  What on Earth is going on?

Light peeked out from beneath the bathroom door.  I knocked lightly, then let myself in.  He sculpted his hair with gel, getting ready for work.

“Good morning,” he said.

Before I could even ask him how he was feeling (Hence the reason I was sleeping in our guest room since the snoring from his cold kept me awake the previous night.), I said, “I see you had a guest last night.”

“Yeah, I did.”  And then he recounted the story.  Isabelle woke up and walked into our bedroom at 3:30 a.m.  She was confused by my absence and wanted Marc to bring her to me. He refused. He tried to get her back to sleep in her room, but she wasn’t tired. So, he let her turn on the light in her room and play Legos — until she banged them against each other.  At that point, he went back to her room and asked her to play quietly.  She did for several minutes, but kept going back and forth between our bedroom and her’s (all the while leaving me undisturbed in the guest room). Finally, she told Marc she was tired so he told her she could sleep on my side of the bed since he just wanted to go back to sleep.  (After all, he is the one who is under the weather.)  She must’ve gone back to her bedroom to retrieve her personal effects since this I found her quite cozy with four items from her room snuggled-up on my side of the bed.

When she awoke, I asked, “Are you comfy?” She smiled.

Don’t get used to it, kiddo, I thought.  You’re going back to your bed tonight.

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com on Tuesday for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com on Tuesday for more slices of life.
21 thoughts on “A “Guest” on My Side of the Bed

  1. Love how you told this story, Stacey. Love how you began with your discovery of Isabelle’s empty bed and then worked into Marc telling you the story. And to think, you slept through all of it. Good for you. 🙂

  2. Oh, this is too cute! Yes, we’ve had those moments of breakdown too. And even after one time of letting them snuggle in the “big bed”, we have had to say no for the next several nights and put them back into their bed. But how can I resist? One day my girls won’t want to snuggle, so I take what I can get now (with limits)! Love that you slept right through it all! 🙂

    1. I guess I omitted some key info when I drafted this quickly this morning. I did hear a little bit of their convo in the middle of the night, plus I heard the smashing of the toy. That was it though. All in all, I slept pretty well. Just still tired from the previous night of only getting four hours of sleep!

  3. I love it! Great slice well told! I was padding around with you in those darken rooms. I hope Marc gets better soon and Isabelle doesn’t get the idea that is a good plan.

  4. They just LOVE to crawl into the big bed, don’t they? My nine year old still crawls into our bed for a snuggle before getting up for the day whenever she gets the chance!

  5. Here’s to a good night’s sleep tonight. Someday I’m going to write about big kids and the “enlightening” that happens when they get bigger-like 6. They sleep, they eat, they function fairly properly. 🙂 This might be my first Slice in March! Thanks for sharing and inspiring an idea!

  6. Your post brought back memories from my children’s early years. It is extraordinary how awake they can be in the middle of the night! Loved the image of her banging Legos. I hope she is fast asleep in her own bed tonight.

  7. Oh my… it begins. They rule our lives, in different ways during different stages. But we are never the same. Which is good. But also, difficult. Thinking back to those days- I would say: breathe it all in. I would go back in a heartbeat. And if someone told me that back then, I would’ve said, “Yeah right… but I want to sleep.” I still do. And I still can’t when she’s home… or not home…

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

