picture books · reading conveys love · routines · slice of life

Books, Bedtime, & the Super Bowl

IMG_1282My husband is the kind of guy who loves his sports. Whenever I turn on the television in the mornings, the channel is always turned to ESPN or the Golf Channel. Sports radio is always on in his car. He reads the sports section of the newspaper before anything else. The most recent book he read was about Derek Jeter. He plays tennis and golf whenever he can find the time. He’s always “checking the scores” on his iPhone. We have a rule (that I made) in our house.

We have a rule (that I made) in our house. No television during dinner time unless it’s the World Series, a major golf championship, or the Super Bowl. Tonight, the television was on during dinner.  I was fine with that.

Despite the television being on during dinner time, my husband didn’t try to get out of getting Isabelle ready for bed.  The television wasn’t on upstairs and his phone wasn’t out.  I finished up in the shower while he got her dried off and ready for bed, just like always.  By the time I arrived at her bedroom, I found the two of them snuggled up in her bed reading a picture book like it was any ol’ night of the year.  There was no conversation about bedtime routines, reading, and football.  My husband did what came naturally to him as a father… he just read a book aloud to his daughter.  I grabbed the phone out of his pocket as he read aloud to her since I knew I had to snap a picture of the two of them together so she will never doubt his devotion to her.

I may detest listening to sports radio on long car trips, but I love everything about his commitment to our family and to raising a literate human. I could not ask for more.

Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com on Tuesday for more slices of life.
Head over to http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com on Tuesday for more slices of life.

 

17 thoughts on “Books, Bedtime, & the Super Bowl

  1. Does your husband read your blog? I hope he reads this lovely piece about his devotion to his daughter. This lasts long after the game is over. Believe me, I have three daughters that my husband would do anything for. It’s such a blessing.

  2. What a great tribute to your husband! He sounds like a really good guy! This feels like a Valentine card in the making! Or a collection of these stories for an anniversary present?

  3. A kindred spirit in my husband. He is having a hard time right now because he missed the KU/Iowa State basketball game last night. (Our satellite isn’t working–big snow storm.) He did relax last night with a good book! But the bedtime routines are just a given here in the Limback household. 3 boys and their books. And I love it. Thanks for sharing this slice. I’ve added some ideas to my notebook because of it.

  4. I am glad you didn’t miss this moment. There is no question that your husband knows what matters the most. And you know how to appreciate it.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

