picture books · raising strong girls

10 New Books with Strong Female Protagonists

The Reflect & Refine and  Enjoy & Embrace Learning Blogs are hosting their annual picture book extravaganza today.
The Reflect & Refine and Enjoy & Embrace Learning Blogs are hosting their annual picture book extravaganza today.

Today’s the day… it’s time for PICTURE BOOK 10 FOR 10, an event co-hosted by Cathy Mere and Mandy Robek.

I grappled a lot with the perfect theme for my Picture Book 10 for 10 list this year. I tossed around all sorts of ideas from Jewish picture books to social issues for toddlers “powerful texts as a way to teach with humor, love and compassion.” On Wednesday night, I looked around my office at the stacks of review copies publishers have graciously sent for me to consider reviewing on Two Writing Teachers or for inclusion in Craft Moves. That made me think I should just write a post with my ten favorite new titles.

Nah, too simple.

Instead, I kicked it up a notch and pulled together a list of new books with strong female protagonists. These are the books I’m proud to share with my daughter since each of the main characters have a back story, trait, or attitude worthy of emulation.

10 New Books with Strong Female Protagnolists - 2014

  1. Edgar’s Second Word written by Audrey Vernick and illustrated by Priscilla Burris (Clarion Books, June 3rd, 2014) — Click here for my full review of this book over at Two Writing Teachers.
  2. Hana Hashimoto, Sixth Violin written by Chieri Uegaki and illustrated by Qin Leng (Kids Can Press, August 1st, 2014)
  3. Imani’s Moon written by JaNay Brown-Wood and illustrated by Hazel Mitchell (Mackinac Island Press, October 14th, 2014)
  4. Lola Plants a Garden written by Anna McQuinn and illustrated by Rosalind Beardshaw (Charlesbridge, August 5th, 2014)
  5. Maple by Lori Nichols (Nancy Paulsen Books, February 20th, 2014) — I’m beyond excited about Maple & Willow Togetherwhich will be released later this year.
  6. Millie Fierce Sleeps Out by Jane Manning (Philomel, May 29th, 2014)
  7. Miss Brooks’ Story Nook (where tales are told and ogres are welcome) written by Barbara Bottner and illustrated by Michael Emberley (Knopf, August 5th, 2014)
  8. The Most Magnificent Thing by Ashley Spires (Kids Can Press, April 1st, 2014) — Click here for my full review of this book over at Two Writing Teachers.
  9. The Worst Princess written by Anna Kemp and illustrated by Sara Ogilvie (Random House, April 22nd, 2014)
  10. Underpants Dance written by Marlena Zapf and illustrated by Lynne Avril (Dial, April 3rd, 2014)

Past #pb10for10 lists:

2013: Bedtime Stories for the Toddler Set

2012:  Picture Books I Couldn’t Live Without (Like the double-negative?)

14 thoughts on “10 New Books with Strong Female Protagonists

  1. Terrific, Stacey. I still need to find & read the Hashimoto story-have seen it well reviewed a lot. Others look great like The Worst Princess (princess mania is rampant, isn’t it?). Thanks for all of these!

  2. I am so excited that you included Hana Hashimoto, Sixth Violin here. I have the feeling that it will end up on a 10 for 10 list in my future! I put Suki’s Kimono (same author) on my list this year. I don’t know Imani’s Moon or Edgar’s Second Word but will be looking for them! Thanks for this wonderful list!

  3. Stacey, you know I’m loving this list you created and can’t wait to share them with my girls! Some titles are too new to even get at my library, but I will keep my eyes open! I fell in love with Maple and had no idea there was another book! I happened to pick up Miss Brooks at the library by chance this week. Thanks for sharing a great list of books with strong female protagonists! Loved your caveat as well: “These are the books I’m proud to share with my daughter since each of the main characters have a back story, trait, or attitude worthy of emulation.” Bravo!

  4. Great subject choice and excellent collection. Waiting for our library copy of Hana Hashimoto and will be keeping an eye out for Imani, thanks!

  5. What a great choice for a book list! I think picture books are a powerful way to teach about character traits. Looks like I will be making a visit to the library this week. 🙂 You’ve included several books that are new to me. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Stacey, thank you so much for including UNDERPANTS DANCE on your list. It was such a joy to write about Lily and her indomitable spirit and self-expression. I hope there will be many more books about her to come.

    It was great to stumble across your blog this way. I think it’s wonderful what you’re doing here.

    Marlena Zapf

  7. Reblogged this on Marlena Zapf and commented:
    Stacey Shubitz included UNDERPANTS DANCE in her “10 New Books with Strong Female Protagonists.” Yay! Please check out the other books on the list, as well as more great stuff she’s doing on her blog.

  8. Stacey,
    I love your list of strong female protagonists. Of course, I was even more excited to learn about all of these new titles. You’ve given me a lot of new books to check out — when I have space on my library card again. ;o)

    I’m so glad you were able to join the conversation.
    Cathy

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

