growth mindset · slice of life · speech · Uncategorized

Speech Workout

SOLSC on TWTWe had an intensive home-speech therapy session this morning.  It started with me letting Isabelle pick what she wanted to work on.  The choices:

Isabelle wanted to do the puppy pages first.  Of course she did!  Who could resist the cute dogs in the book?

But the thing is, the work she had to do wasn’t so easy.  She had to name actions using nouns, verbs, and objects.  She had to combine different levels of bisyllabics, polysyllabics, and final consonant words.  The workout book reminds parents (or SLPs) not to stress about proper grammar yet.  As a writer, I initially wanted to stress about this, but I’ve come to realize it’s more important for my child to be able to move her mouth, tongue, and jaw in a variety of ways so she can put together simple sentences.

I recorded Isabelle using my iPhone’s voice memo app this morning. I did it so I could play back what she said… so she could hear herself. Once she went down for a nap this afternoon, I uploaded the files to SoundCloud because I want to share with others, like you, dear reader, how hard my little one is working.  Children with Apraxia don’t have words rolling off of their tongues like kids without Apraxia.  It’s HARD work for them.  And boy did she have a speech workout this morning!  Take a listen:


I’m sharing the next sound file since it includes her frustration towards the end of it. I know some things are so tricky for my daughter to say, but yet she perseveres in the face of something that’s really tricky.  (Granted, it sometimes takes a lot of encouragement from the cheering section — me — but it’s worth it in the end!)  Apraxia isn’t always pretty or perfect.  And that’s okay.  Because my daughter has a growth mindset, which is allowing her to make progress with her talking, which will ultimately help her in other aspects of her life.

 

20 thoughts on “Speech Workout

  1. Thank you for the glimpse(s) of what Apraxia looks with strong, intense intervention. She is doing great. I have worked with many school age kids with Apraxia who don’t sound nearly as competent as your daughter. As I listened to your clips, I couldn’t help but make a connection to my own exercise (or lack of it) routines. Hard work in all aspects of life pays off; however, that does not make it any easier.

    1. Thankfully she was a compliant tester at age two so we had an early diagnosis. Though if you ask her to say something like “pom-pom ham pop” she’ll fall apart. Those movements are still so difficult for her.

  2. You are a hero in my book. Your perseverance and dedication are so admirable. Thanks for sharing part of the journey with us. I love hearing Isabelle’s little voice.

  3. I love how SOL reminds us that people have so many different kinds of days. You and your daughter are doing fabulous work. It’s been a long time since my children had such young voices. Your writing & audio reminded me of time with my children years ago. Thank you!

  4. Wow! I agree with Margaret…you are a hero in my book too! I’m in awe of all of this hard work. Thank you for sharing these recordings. I feel like I learn so much from listening to all of this.

  5. I love this little snippets and sound bites. How fascinating to listen to Isabelle’s progression! It’s amazing what I take for granted when listening to my girls speak. (I wrote about one of my girls reading/retelling a book to her grandma via skype. Now I wish I would have recorded it!)

    This isn’t an easy journey, but with early intervention, time dedicated to practicing and speaking, and a growth mindset, change is happening! You are a great teacher and mother (with lots of patience) for a 3 year old! Thanks for sharing your journey Stacey!

  6. I loved that you recorded your work together. You have the patience of a saint. She will be successful because you expect it and love her. It would be great if you continue to record your work together and then put it together in a scrap book (scrapbook of audio sound and recording) for her when she is older and particularly when she has children of her own. Barb Brown

  7. It is a journey, isn’t it – each step is to be celebrated. Your own ca-do attitude and patience is a gift to Isabelle, and her resilient spirit is a gift to you.

  8. Stacey, this was such an inspiring Slice of Life. I love that you added sound bites so that we as readers could really understand what you were writing about. I didn’t know much about Apraxia or the interventions needed to help children with it, but after reading this and listening to the determined and hard-work of you and your daughter, I began researching it. Thank you for sharing!

    1. Thank you for taking the time to research it, Stephanie. Some people think it’s “new,” which is untrue. I have a feeling it’s been around for years and just went undiagnosed. You know… people said someone talked funny or had a tough time talking. Thankfully, there’s a name for what these kids experience and great therapy to match!

  9. I so appreciate this glimpse of your shared journey. Knowlege is understanding. Understanding creates compassion. We can be better people in the world when we can empathize with others.

  10. Thanks for sharing your work on the learning journey with Isabelle’s speech. I believe your sharing is such a model for others who are on a similar journey. It’s helping me learn too…

  11. A growth mindset plays such a huge role in her ability to persevere when things get challenging. What a blessing to finally hear her sweet little voice after all this time of learning about her.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

