museum · OBSERVATIONS · raising strong girls · slice of life

Curiosity Connection

20140323-165112.jpgIsabelle and one of her oldest friends, Molly, got together (with their mommies) for brunch and a play date today. I watched the two of them play at the State Museum’s Curiosity Connection today. They gathered crops, rode on the school bus, and played in the kitchen of the house. They also built trucks, rode in the car, and crawled through the hollowed out play spaces. Watching them play made me thankful the Curiosity Connection doesn’t have “boy activities” or “girl activities” there. There are just things to do, to explore. It’s not like toy stores that segregate toys by gender.  (Read more about that here.)

I wrote a poem in my head about the two of them playing together with whatever toys their three year-old hearts desired. I should’ve pulled over and written it down since I can’t seem to get the words right at this moment. I didn’t. I’m hoping it comes back to me tonight. If it does, I’ll have a notebook ready to go so I can capture the words I thought of that remind me of how Isabelle and Molly redefine girly when they play.

Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.
Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.
11 thoughts on “Curiosity Connection

  1. What fun to watch the kids engage in their own world of play. Glad there wasn’t a little boy telling them they couldn’t play with certain items. Play is nongender, some people just haven’t figured that out yet.

  2. I too watching the littles at play and HATE when the words I planned in my head (while driving) disappear when I go to write. The solution, I found when doing my dissertation and driving 90+ minutes home, was a digital recording device….I also used it during the middle of the night when “great thoughts” emerged from my dreams!

  3. Looks like a delightful place for fun and learning! I always love your attention to about gender stereotypes. (In fact, I was telling my graduate student observer about you this week when she inadvertently reinforced the idea that boys don’t cry when talking to my class. We had a great talk about it!)

    I know that feeling of writing something in your head and then not being able to get it back… hope it returns for you!

  4. It looks like a wonderful museum and I love that they play with gender-neutral toys. I always struggled with that because we were so full of girls in our house. I wish that my girls had likes legos more…I’m going to be on the watch for the poem to show up in a blog post–I’m betting those words come back to you!

  5. I love the museum! We practically move in during the summer! Watching children play can definitely inspire poetry. I have been known to pull out whatever scraps of paper are around- menus, receipts, napkins- just to catch hold of a thought! I think I might try that voice recorder idea next time.

  6. Playing should be left entirely to the imagination of whoever is playing. Toys shouldn’t be gender specific. They are there to be used in whatever scenario the player can come up with. That is how we grow.

  7. Love it! I wish everywhere just had a bunch of toys out. No “girls aisle” or “boys aisle”. No assumptions that they shouldn’t make Black Widow or Princess Leia action figures because boys “won’t buy it” and girls don’t buy action figures. (SERIOUSLY!)

    Toss it all in the ring and let them at it!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

