slice of life

Standing in a Bubble

Bubble Mania

Have you ever stood inside of a bubble?  I haven’t, but Isabelle did at her friend Allegra’s birthday party today.

We went to Explore & More, a hands-on museum in Gettysburg, for the party. There were lots of neat things to see and do in this small kids’ museum. But by far, the thing Isabelle seemed to enjoy the most was standing inside of a hula hoop that lifted up gradually to envelop her body in a soap bubble.

Isabelle stood on the platform by herself as little Allegra hoisted the hula hoop into the air.  She did so with precision, which created a perfect bubble nearly every time she tried.  Then, the girls stood side by side as Allegra’s father and grandfather made the bubble appear around them again and again and again.

Truth be told, I wanted to stand on the platform too.  I wanted someone to hoist the hula hoop around me since I’ve never stood inside of a bubble before. But then I remembered, it’s a children’s museum and another child’s birthday party. If it were my kiddo’s birthday party, then I would’ve done it, but it didn’t seem like the right thing to do.  So I stood on the periphery and watched, thinking about the next time I go to Explore & More.  Next time I will have someone make a bubble around me.

Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.
Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.
12 thoughts on “Standing in a Bubble

  1. I think that standing in a bubble could be a wonderful picture book, Stacey! Even opportunities for symbolism and allegory, I think. Bubbles are so thoroughly magical and intriguing to all ages…Love your honesty about wanting to jump right in–such a cute post!

  2. I’ve taken my niece to the Children;s Museum in Portland, OR. Just like you, I wanted to do some of the activities, too. Be a participant, not an onlooker. Sometimes being a kid is a lot more fun.

  3. A teacher at my school does a bubble study with her students every few years, & they do that, among other wonderful things. It’s amazing. What a fun idea for a birthday party, Stacey.

  4. This bubble things sounds so fun – and so comforting at the same time. I imagined this safe and secure feeling of being enveloped by a bubble. Could that be one reason Isabelle, and other kids, love it? I’m sure there are many other cool things about the hula hoop and the bubble that comes up around them. Fun.

  5. I want you to be able to simply use a kiddie pool and a hula hoop and some extra concentrated bubble solution in your back yard to be able to stand in a bubble! I don’t know which was more entertaining, the thought of the girls having so much fun, or the thought of how much you desired to be part of their activity! 🙂

  6. Sounds like Jen has the answer for you…you can make it at home. The girls must have been fascinated with the bubble since they did it over and over. I have never done that…so can only imagine the feeling. It must have been wonderful for them.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

