confidence · food · slice of life · Waldorf Education

Izzy’s Oatmeal

“I want oatmeal!” Isabelle declared this morning.

“Okay, that works for me,” I replied.

“Nah Elma oatmeal, Bahb oatmeal!” (Translation: Not Elmo’s oatmeal, Bob’s oatmeal.)

That’s right. She put me on notice, knowing what I’d try to do to save time. She didn’t want the Earth’s Best instant oatmeal that features Elmo on the box. She wanted to make her oatmeal from scratch using old fashioned rolled oats from Bob’s Red Mill. And, no, you didn’t miss anything. She’s still three.

Ever since the first day of school this year, Isabelle has helped her teacher make the oatmeal from scratch. In fact, she will no longer eat instant oatmeal! (Perhaps it’s because she knows just how good the stove-top version of oatmeal tastes.)

I gathered the ingredients we’d need, got my Vine ready, set Isabelle up in her play kitchen, and let her get the oatmeal started.  Here’s how it’s done:

Izzy’s Oatmeal (adapted from Ms. Jackie, her teacher)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Organic Regular Rolled Oats
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 tsp. fine crystal salt
  • ground cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • maple syrup (to serve)

Directions:

  1. Combine oats and water in a medium saucepan. Stir.
  2. Stir-in salt.
  3. Shake in as much cinnamon as your heart desires. Stir.
  4. Add butter.
  5. Stir in the raisins now. (Yes, now! Do not add them later. Adding them now will make them nice and plump!)
  6. Allow the mixture to soak for 1 – 2 minutes.
  7. Hand off to mommy.
  8. Bring to a boil on stove.
  9. Simmer for 10 minutes on low heat.
  10. Remove from burner.
  11. Portion into bowls and allow to cool.
  12. Add maple syrup to serve.

12 thoughts on “Izzy’s Oatmeal

  1. Oh, the things you miss when your kids get big.

    She has good taste, knows what’s good for her and she can cook. Nice job Izzy. No more Elmo (really he’s on a box?) for her. By the way I totally agree with you/her on the raisin timing.

  2. Love how the video captures the excitement and makes you think about the next step: eating it! While I must admit I used to HATE oatmeal, I am with Izzy that GOOD, REAL oatmeal is delicious. My husband and I had a HUGE fight one day when he brought home some knock-off cheap brand of supposedly Irish but more accurately Yucky oatmeal from the dollar store or some other bargain location!

  3. I admit that I don’t like oatmeal. I eat it only when I have to (three times a year). However, this sounds really good and could change my mind about it.

  4. Butter in oatmeal…that’s new to me! We had oatmeal here today to. I have managed to train my children to enjoy it with maple syrup or no sweetener, so when my husband is home I make him sneak the brown sugar into his. He thinks I’m wrong, but does it anyway.

    Isn’t it amazing how strong-willed a three year old can be? Shopping is a whole new experience!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

