writing challenges

Five Minute Friday

Five Minute FridayI’m presenting a workshop, “Curating and Cultivating a Virtual Community of Writers,” for the Chester County Reading Association next week. One of the things I’ll be talking about are blogging challenges.  I’ve known about Five Minute Friday for a few months, but I’ve never participated in it… until now. So why today? Well, I cannot recommend a writing challenge if I haven’t done it myself!  Therefore, I’m jumping in with five minutes of writing around the word HERO, which is today’s prompt.

I’m setting my iPhone for five minutes and hitting start now!

HERO

When I think about who my heros are, they aren’t larger than life people I see on TV.  Sure, I admire people who’ve been memorialized in Washington, DC.  However, if you ask me who my heros are, you’ll receive an answer that includes my family members and some of my close friends.  I surround myself with people who have attributes I admire.  In my immediate family alone, I admire people for different reasons.  I could list them all, but instead, I will just list the first word that comes to mind for each of them:

  • I admire my mom for her persistence.
  • I admire my dad for his work ethic.
  • I admire my husband for his caring nature.
  • I admire my daughter since she resilience.

Each of these people is a hero to me since they have qualities I admire.

When Isabelle grows up, I want to be her hero too. I want her to look at me and think, “She took risks for me.  She persevered when things were tough.  She supported me.”  I know it’s what I do every day of the year, how I treat her and how I walk through this world, that will allow her to see me as her hero when she grows up.

My gosh, five minutes went quickly! The above piece is unedited. I don’t know if I said everything I wanted to say, but the essence is there.  Off to read other FMF participants’ posts so I can see what this community of writers is all about!

One thought on “Five Minute Friday

  1. Welcome to #FMF, Stacey! Last week was my first attempt at FMF– and you’re right– five minutes goes by way too quickly! I love your commitment to raise your daughter to be a reader and a hero! Love it! Thanks for joining!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

