OBSERVATIONS · pretend play · slice of life

The Reason I Decided to “Clean Up” My Daughter’s Playroom

I’m not big on cleaning up for Isabelle. I prefer to clean up with her, which is what I do 90% of the time. 10% 9.9% of the time it needs to get done for a reason, like someone coming over to work in her play room, and that’s when I do it myself. Tonight was the 0.1% of the time that I did it for another reason.

20131212-222154.jpgI walked into Isabelle’s play room and there were Little People scattered everywhere! (ICYMI: Click here to read the post I wrote on Monday about why we have all of these Little People* since Fisher Price isn’t exactly on my list of favorite toy companies these days.  Click here and here for two — of many — reasons why.)  The auction I won on Tuesday (on eBay) express shipped (For no extra charge, I might add!) the Little People to me.  They arrived today.  Isabelle was BEYOND elated.  However, there are Little People EVERYWHERE now.  In fact, not all of them are even pictured in the picture on the left!  There are two sitting outside her bedroom door and three more inside of a Little People School Bus.  (And I’m sure there are a few that are hidden under a couch cushion or something!)

Listen — she enjoys playing with them. Today, during speech, her speech therapist brought her an early birthday gift (the playground set pictured on the right). She LOVED it. There were so many great language moves she was able to work on with her during our session using the Little People as the “characters.” After she left, Isabelle continued to play with them, repeating some of the same phrases she learned in the session.  (For instance, she approximated, “Excuse me. May I have a turn please?” when one character wanted to go down the slide or swing on the swing. She had the other character answer “Sure!”)  However, they were everywhere.

So instead of going to bed at 10:00 p.m., like I do every night, I tiptoed into her play room to tackle the mess of Little People that I had been stepping over all day.  I rearranged the Little People and made a Little People City.  (Pathetic, I know!)  Part of me did it because I just wanted to go to bed in a tidier house.  But, truth be told, I thought she might like to wake up to a new arrangement of the Little People.  Usually she has all of their things scattered throughout her play room.  Seeing as her play is her work, I try not to interfere.  However, I couldn’t resist just this one time.

She’ll either love it or hate it in the morning.  The clock is counting down ’til 7:00 a.m.  I’ll know in 8.5 hours, won’t I?  And by 7:15 a.m., I will either be beaming with delight or wishing I had gone to bed at 10 p.m., like I normally do.

 

* = I successfully snuck out of all of Lynn’s stuff and gave it back to her in a box today!

2 thoughts on “The Reason I Decided to “Clean Up” My Daughter’s Playroom

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

