dress-up · OBSERVATIONS

These are not your typical toddler girl Halloween costumes!

Last night we met up with friends for dinner and for Pumpkin Glow at the Hershey Gardens. [If you’re ever in Hershey at Halloween, you have to check out Pumpkin Glow. it’s one of my favorite events in Central PA. Essentially there are over 150 Jack-o-Lanterns around the Gardens, which are open to Trick o’ Treaters. Kids walk around the garden path and receive an assortment of Hershey candy (which their parents may or may not eat while they’re sleeping) to enjoy.] I was pleased-as-punch when I heard what my friend’s daughter was dressing as for Halloween: a pirate.  Why? Because my two and a half year-old was dressing up as a med student in scrubs with the words “Doctor in Training” on the back of them.  Not your typical toddler girl costumes for Halloween.

“I love that you’re dressing her up as a pirate,” I told my friend as we wolfed down our salads at Panera.

“I’m trying to avoid the whole princess thing as long as possible,” she said.

“Us too!”

“She already has friends who are into that stuff,” my friend told me.

I nodded knowingly.  I know my days of keeping Isabelle in the dark about the existence of the Disney princesses is fleeting.  (Seriously, she has no idea who they are!) Once she goes to pre-school next fall, it is possible princess mania will be alive and well in her classroom and then I’m really going to have a situation on my hands.

But until then, I relish having a like-minded friend who dresses her daughter in purple shirts with flowers, but doesn’t go overboard with the girly-girl thing.

But most of all, I loved watching the pirate and the med student rock their costumes last night.  Here they are:

It was REALLY cold last night, which is why the girls were wearing jackets. You can see Izzy's scrub pants, on the right, but not her scrub shirt. Poor thing had two layers of clothes on underneath the scrubs, plus a coat, hat, and mittens!
It was REALLY cold last night, which is why the girls were wearing jackets. You can see Izzy’s scrub pants, on the right, but not her scrub shirt. Poor thing had two layers of clothes on underneath the scrubs, plus a coat, hat, and mittens! (Though she didn’t want to sport the mittens until she got really cold.)

 

4 thoughts on “These are not your typical toddler girl Halloween costumes!

  1. You may or may not go through childhood without the princesses but the important thing you are doing is to show your child the simple joys of pretend. It’s the seeds of hoping and dreaming for a lifetime. If at some point she becomes a princess or a pirate or plaid Scottish dancer, she will do so because you have assured her it is OK to imagine a life you do not yet know. There is perhaps no great gift a parent can give!

  2. My daughter and son-in-law are trying, but the tutus and the pink are everywhere. Ingrid so far has been an owl, a pteranodon and this year, a cat. Biggest challenge, she wants to crawl everywhere! Love the doctor outfit, so fun, Stacey. Halloween is fun for the kids, and like Anita said, it is pretend.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

