OBSERVATIONS · routines · slice of life

A not so perfect, yet perfect, morning.

I’m taking some inspiration for this post from Anita Ferreri’s “A not so perfect, yet perfect fall morning” that she shared during last week’s Slice of Life Story Challenge.

I could write about Isabelle fretting when I didn’t let her pretend “put on” concealer,

OR I could write about her smacking her lips together to request her Burt’s Bees Lip Balm.

I could write about Isabelle not wanting cereal,

OR I could write about her saying “yes” to Cheerios.

I could write about Isabelle requesting artificial sweetener,

OR I could write about her saying “Ah, me — Senda!” (Splenda)

I could write about Isabelle taking a long time to eat breakfast,

OR I could write about her feeding Cheerios to her Old MacDonald figurine one by one.

I could write about Isabelle not wanting to get up from the table,

OR I could write about the way she pulled me in for a kiss.

I could write about Isabelle trudging around the house with her new rain boots,

OR I could write about her kissing the owls on the new rain boots. (Thank G-d they weren’t worn yet!)

I could write about Isabelle kicking off her rain boots as soon as she got in the car,

OR I could write about her requesting “Opuh! Opuh!” (opera) as I was about to close the back door.

I could write about any of these moments from our morning. Instead, I can remember each one using Anita’s post theme as a mentor.

20 thoughts on “A not so perfect, yet perfect, morning.

  1. Love the point of view! positive or challenging these are the moments in life that mean so much! Hold on to them all! So sweet! I love the boots and yes I would kick them off as soon as I got in the car as well! Love!

  2. It’s a wonderful way to tell lots of little (and wonderful) things, perfect or not, Stacey. I love the l.o.n.g eating at breakfast. My littlest granddaughter exactly. She takes such a long time. Fun!

  3. Love the perspective and the gentle reminder to think about what we choose to pay attention to. What we choose to notice and address is SO important for our children and for ourselves. Great post, Stacey!

  4. This was fun to read! And a definite reminder to me during those mornings of trying to rush out of the house — I could write about M. holding us up from leaving on time OR how she was carefully selecting a book to bring with her in the car to read. I could write about P. slowly putting her shoes on OR how she is gaining independence and learning to care for herself. Love it, Stacey!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

