narrative · writing

Stories come from three places.

I had the chance to listen to Deborah Wiles speak at KSRA this afternoon. Unfortunately, I had an appointment, which procluded me from listening to her entire talk. (Yes, I was one of the people who had to sit at the back of the room and sneak out in the middle of her talk. I don’t like being one of those people, since I know how that feels as a speaker. But I had to today!) There was something Wiles asserted about stories that I wrote down since I’m desperately trying to find a way to make time to get my stories down on the page.

Wiles said:
Stories come from three places: the brain, the heart, and the gut.

What does that mean?
Brain: That’s what you know or your experiences.
Heart: That’s what you feel about your experiences.

Gut: That’s what you imagine; the meaning you make out of your experiences.

I’m about to push myself more as a writer. (I’ll be blogging about that more this-coming Monday at Two Writing Teachers.) Until then, I’m going to keep Wiles’ advice in mind: “Stories come from three places: the brain, the heart, and the gut.”
5 thoughts on “Stories come from three places.

  1. I look forward to hearing more about what your plans are to push yourself as a writer. It is always nice to grow from setting goals and considering how to commit to writing, stretching ourselves.

    Thank you for sharing this bit from the presentation!

  2. I’m late commenting, but love that you shared this, Stacey. Interesting to ponder, & I’m excited to hear that you’re going to do some more writing. Hope you will share!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

