OBSERVATIONS · outdoors · seasons · slice of life

Blowing Bubbles in the Backyard

Isabelle grabbed for the bubbles, shook them up, then handed them to me.  She took my hand and led me to the deck steps.  She climbed up four stairs, sat down and told me, “Mama, sit.”

“Scoot over,” I said. “I need more space.”

She moved towards the left and said, “Mama, bubble!”

I began blowing bubbles.  She kept asking for a turn.  Initially I said “no,” because there were so many small bubbles inside of the wand from the shaking.  The first time she took the wand from me nothing happened.  The second time nothing happened either.  The third time there were still no bubbles.  So, she put the wand up to her mouth.  The bubble soap got all over her lips and chin.  She licked up the grape-smelling liquid.  I immediately checked the side of the bottle to make sure the bubbles were non-toxic.  (They were.)

“Wipe your mouth here,” I said lifting my sleeve up to her face.  (It’s not like I keep paper towels in the backyard.)

She didn’t wipe.  Instead she paused.  Then, she smiled wryly and wiped her mouth on the arm of my fleece.

“Nice,” I said. “I was already planning to wash this.  But if I was unsure, now I’m sure.”

Another wry smile.  It was as if she got my sarcasm.

And that’s the way it went.  Just blowing bubbles on a crisp early-autumn evening.  Simple pleasures.

Take a listen to our “bubble conversation”:

13 thoughts on “Blowing Bubbles in the Backyard

  1. You certainly captured a small wonderful moment in time. I love the use of audio clips to capture moments for parents, administrators and even just to remember. I love the faces of students when they hear their own voices!

  2. Sounds like both of you are having so much fun- I love listening in! And later on, it will be so much fun to be able to listen these podcasts and remember!

  3. oh, her giggles and sweet little voice are just precious! I love when you capture these little moments to share with us! You’re right — the “daddy bubble / baby bubble” thing is so adorable!

  4. Love it and I liked hearing the “nice” that you gave Isabel after she wiped her bubble mouth on your sleeve. Precious. Bubbles are so much fun. You reminded me of a bubble necklace my Mom gave me. I was in college and it was a small glass jar of bubbles. I lived in a nine-story dormitory, no air conditioning. I used to ride the elevator down (alone) and fill it with bubbles. What fun I had walking out of those open doors. Thanks for reminding me.

  5. I love the way you write about the everyday. It reminds me that sometimes I look too hard for what to write about. The stories are going on all around me all day long. Love hearing Isabelle’s giggles and hearing her language grow!!

  6. Stacey,
    I love that you were sharing a bubbles moment with Isabelle. There is something really special about bubbles…I will come back to listen to the sound cloud as it’s late at night and I don’t want to wake anyone up!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

