accomplishments · OBSERVATIONS

A Whole Lot of Nothing

The concussion I got nearly two weeks ago has thrown me for a real loop. I have spent such little time using technology that even I am shocked. I feel as though I have done nothing, which is exactly what I’m supposed to be doing. Brain rest. Physical rest. They’re boring, but necessary.

This morning I was missing writing a lot. However, I couldn’t spend time on the computer. Therefore, I created an “infographic”/timeline of what I’ve been up to. I used Facebook’s faces as inspiration. Believe it or not, creating the image below required a lot of brain power. Therefore, I laid down in bed for about 90 minutes afterwards.

20130730-130052.jpg

I’m about 75 – 80% better thanks to my mother-in-law and my mom helping me out with my daughter. That said, I’m really looking forward to feeling 100% soon since I miss living life (e.g., taking Isabelle places, writing, reading, social networking, and exercising). Sigh. At least I’ve been able to read Isabelle bedtime stories!

And on that note, my computer time is up. It’s time to give my brain a rest — again.

12 thoughts on “A Whole Lot of Nothing

  1. Love your doodle timeline. I couldn’t imagine brain rest, but we all probably need to go on brain rest several times throughout the year! The world is still spinning and life does go on! Hang in there and pray that you heal with no more headaches!

  2. Stacey,
    I love your doodling-I really am thinking of you. I hope you will be feeling better soon. This has to be difficult for you. Thanks for sharing with us in your time of pain and need to rest. Glad you are able to read bedtime stories too…

  3. Love all the expressions on those faces…but, poor you! That last face looks like the light at the end of the tunnel. Fingers crossed!

  4. Your infographic tells your story so clearly, but I’m so sorry about your injury! Glad to hear you’re on the mend. I wish I was going to be in NY next week. I know you’ll have an incredible week.
    Catherine

  5. Wow – you created that while on brain rest! It totally captures your experience, hope you’re back to 100% soon!

  6. So glad you are feeling better. Keep on taking good care of yourself! I loved the timeline – very inspiring for me to 1 – spend less technology time and 2 – be artistically creative!

  7. Stacey,

    I’m sorry to hear about your concussion. I am glad that you are getting closer and closer to feeling better though and that you found a writing outlet!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

