library · OBSERVATIONS

Since when did the library become so much fun?

20130716-211129.jpg
Isabelle, left, takes turns playing with the school bus in the children’s room.

I used to love going to the library as a kid. My mom let me check out as many books as the library would let me. I just loved having stacks of books in my bedroom. (I still love being surrounded by stacks of books in my home as an adult!)

Yesterday morning, we went to the Fredricksen Library, which a friend has raved about. I had never been there, but thought it would be the perfect way to spend some time during this heat wave we’re having. I had this idea that Isabelle would play at the train table she told me about and then we’d sit together on a sofa and read our way down through a stack of books.

Hahaha! Silly me. The Fredricksen Library‘s children room is awesome. However, it’s awesome because it’s like an indoor toddler play space that just so happens to have books. There is a huge dollhouse to play with, dump trucks to push, a huge pretend kitchen, computers with games, and SO MUCH MORE! Isabelle was so distracted by all of the toys that she only let me read about six pages in a Curious George book (and she likes monkeys!) to her. Wowzers!

I always enjoyed going to the library as a kid. I have a feeling Isabelle will too, but it might be for a different reason.

One thought on “Since when did the library become so much fun?

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

