independence · needs · OBSERVATIONS · slice of life

Communicating Needs

9233571842_7681711f87_c
Reaching for the milk (with a plastic cow in-hand).

Sometimes she points. Sometimes she shows us a picture. Sometimes she speaks a word.

But not today. Today she used a plastic cow.

We were scurrying around the kitchen, cleaning up from lunch. Extra cucumber and orange pepper into a baggie for later. Dirty napkins in the garbage. Used dishes stacked by the sink. I ran upstairs to get new dish towels since the ones we were using had seen their last ounce of water.

When I returned to the kitchen, I put them on the dishtowel rack and noticed something open up with the eyes that are in the back of my head out of the corner of my eye. I turned around and discovered one of the refrigerator doors was open. In front of it stood a three-foot tall curly haired girl with a big grin on her face. And that’s when I saw it. There was a plastic cow from her tractor set staring inside of the refrigerator. I nudged Marc with my elbow and said, “Look.”

He turned around. We looked at her together and smirked. She pivoted to face the inside of the fridge.

“Do you want milk?” I asked.

“Muhlk,” she replied.

“Do you think the cow is going to get it for you?” I asked, chuckling.

“Yep,” she said.

I waited and watched.

Nope, the cow wasn’t helping, but Isabelle waited patiently.

“Would you like me to get your milk?” I asked.

“Yes,” she said nodding her head.

She grabbed the cow, closed the refrigerator door, and waited for me to get it for her.

Not sure why she didn’t just say “muhlk” in the first place. Maybe we were too busy. But in the end, she got her needs met, didn’t she?

One thought on “Communicating Needs

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

