celebrations · slice of life

I’m thankful to be a mom — today and every day.

I cherish little moments like this, where I get to watch Isabelle discover something. I love watching the world with her sense of wonder.
I cherish little moments like this, where I get to watch Isabelle discover something. I love watching the world with her sense of wonder.

My husband is cooking dinner tonight.  It’s not that he doesn’t offer to help out with dinner on other nights — because he does.  I do most of the cooking because I love to do it.  But today is Mother’s Day and my husband truly believes I should have the day off.  [He’s good about giving me “time off” at nights and on weekends, which I appreciate since my daughter (aka: my employer) has crummy vacation and sick leave policies.]  And while my husband does wonderful things for me every day of the year and is a great father, it’s only once a year that I get things like this:

My husband got me a music box, with a beautiful quote about motherhood on the outside of it, for Mother's Day.
My husband got me a music box, with a beautiful quote about motherhood on the outside of it, for Mother’s Day. When I opened it, the handmade card from my daughter was inside. Awww!

He worked with my daughter and some tubes of paint to get her to create a Mother’s Day card for me.  It’s one of the most precious cards I’ve ever received since I know a lot of love and hard work went into it.

I spent my third Mother’s Day going to the same restaurant as I did for my first Mother’s Day.  I went to the local botanical gardens, which I did on my first Mother’s Day too.  I don’t need whistles and bells.  Just time with the ones I love, which today was my husband, daughter, and parents.

When I lay down in bed at the end of each day, no matter how stressful it was, I am always grateful to be a mom.  I wanted to be a mom for as long as I could remember.  Having my daughter a little over two years ago was such a blessing.  I never take her presence in my life for granted.

13 thoughts on “I’m thankful to be a mom — today and every day.

  1. A day to remember the specialness of being a mom. Sounds like your day was just about perfect (except for the spit up and laundry, but hey, that’s life).

  2. Yes, I can relate to the sense of gratitude. It is so helpful to keep in perspective when we are tired, frustrated, or stressed out! I am happy that it sounds like you had a great Mother’s Day. I loved the picture where we can see your and Isabelle’s curly hair.

  3. I don’t need whistles and bells. Just time with the ones I love.
    That sums it up – and how happy it is that, because this is so, every day can be a celebration of Mothers Day.

  4. Our employers may have lousy sick leave and vacation, but the benefits and joy they fill our lives with more than compensate. I cherish the moments with my daughter, even more so now, that I can see the time quickly approaching when she won’t be here every day.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

