OBSERVATIONS · picture books · podcast · slice of life

Napping Doesn’t Come Easily When Daylight Savings Time Begins

I never thought I’d be one of those people who complained about the effects of clock changes on their child. But when you already have a child who isn’t a great napper and throw in the start of Daylight Savings Time, it gets even tougher. A slice of our pre-nap conversation:

I read Little Cub by Olivier Dunrea once I got Isabelle upstairs to brush her teeth before her nap.  It’s been almost a half hour since I put her down for a nap.  She’s still awake, playing in her crib.  I cringe when I think what bedtime is going to be like tonight now that we’ve sprung forward.  Oye!

UPDATED at 2:40 p.m.: SHE IS SLEEPING!  (That’s about 50 minutes after I recorded on SoundCloud.)

12 thoughts on “Napping Doesn’t Come Easily When Daylight Savings Time Begins

  1. Stacey,
    It might be easier to go to bed because she’ll be tired if she didn’t get a nap in…I read a post from a daycare to parents that said to anticipate a more difficult drop-off day tomorrow due to the change in their little schedules. So far so good with Nattie and her nap today. I think she was tired from playing outside.

    1. Dare I say, I think she just fell asleep. All is quiet on the monitor AND I don’t see any movement.

      Maybe I’ll have my husband take her outside (later on) to run around while I make dinner. This way can get her wiggles out (and get to bed a bit earlier)

    1. Thanks Cindy. They’re not exactly related to literacy (my mission of this blog) nor are they true podcasts. However, I’m happy with the way I’m capturing little slices of life, so for now it’ll do.

      She went down pretty easily last night. Got her in at 8:35. Not bad.

  2. Ugh, day light savings… even as adult, I still get sick everytime the time changes. I am sure, like many other things, this will be a learning experience. Now you will be ready for next time.

  3. Isabelle did not sound reay for a nap at all, Stacey – too full of laughter, squeals and the giggles. None of my three ever napped – it was 6 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. every day…long days!

    1. We’ve had many days like that, Tara. I’m working on a major project right now and really need those afternoon nap times so I can get work done. I realize it’s not supposed to be all about me, but sometimes I have to try to get a little “me” time in there.

  4. I agree with Tara, too many giggles to go to nap. Those giggles are the sweetest sounds of pure delight to dodge mama and her plan. Glad she finally settled down for you.

    1. I know, Elsie! It’s hard to put her down for a nap, but if she doesn’t take one, she’s not the most fun person to be around once 6 p.m. arrives. Fortunately she went down for a nap at 2:45 p.m. today. 🙂

  5. This is my first “soundcloud slice” of yours. I love it! I love getting to hear your voice. First, because you have a great voice, but also to hear the ways you talk to Isabelle, they ways the two of you laugh together. Fabulous. I’m glad you got her to got down for her nap!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment below.

